## THE PARLIAMENT OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

No. 36.

## VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

## TUESDAY, 23RD JULY, 1901.

- 1. The House met pursuant to adjournment.—Mr. Speaker took the Chair, and read Prayers.
- 2. Petition.—Sir Langdon Bonython presented a Petition from the South Australian Chamber of Manufactures (Incorporated), under its common seal, praying that the control by the Inter-State Commission of rates of carriage should be confined to State-owned means of carriage. Petition received and read.
- 3. Customs Bill.—The Order of the Day for the further consideration of this Bill in Committee of the whole House having been read—Mr. Speaker left the Chair, and the House resolved itself into a Committee of the Whole.
  - Mr. Speaker resumed the Chair; Mr. Chanter reported that the Committee had made progress in the Bill, and that he was directed to ask: That the Committee may have leave to sit again.

    Resolved—That the House will, to-morrow, again resolve itself into the said Committee.
- 4. Standing Orders Committee.—Mr. Barton moved, by leave, That the number of Members appointed to serve on the Standing Orders Committee be increased to eight, and that the Chairman of Committees be an additional Member of such Committee.

  Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.
- 5. Adjournment.—Mr. Barton moved, That the House do now adjourn. Debate ensued.

Question—put and resolved in the affirmative.

And then the House, at half-past ten o'clock p.m., adjourned until to-morrow at half-past two o'clock p.m.

Members Present.—All Members were present except—The Attorney-General (The Honorable Alfred Deakin), The Minister of Home Affairs (The Honorable Sir William Lyne, K.C.M.G.), The Minister of Defence (The Right Honorable Sir John Forrest, P.C., G.C.M.G.), Messrs. Brown, Conroy, Cruickshank, Ewing, Glynn, Hughes, Kennedy, Knox, Macdonald-Paterson, McColl, F. E. McLean, Sir William McMillan, The Right Honorable G. H. Reid, P.C., Messrs. Ronald, Sawers, Bruce Smith, Sydney Smith, Spence, Thomson, Watkins, Watson, and Willis.

C. GAVAN DUFFY, Clerk of the House of Representatives.