Hon Anthony Albanese MP

Anthony Albanese

Track (What's this?)

Member for Grayndler, New South Wales

Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4664
(02) 6277 8532

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

334A Marrickville Road
Marrickville, NSW, 2204

Postal address
334A Marrickville Road
Marrickville, NSW, 2204

(02) 9564 3588
(02) 9564 1734

Connect with Hon Anthony Albanese MP

Personal website
Party website
Parliamentary Education Office

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Grayndler electorate map

Grayndler, New South Wales


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Grayndler, New South Wales, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Ministerial appointments

  • Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government from 3.12.07 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for Infrastructure and Transport from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for Regional Development and Local Government from 25.3.13 to 1.7.13.
  • Deputy Prime Minister from 27.6.13 to 18.9.13.
  • Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Communications, Transport and Microeconomic Reform from 29.5.96 to 17.11.97; Financial Institutions and Public Administration from 29.5.96 to 31.8.98; Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 8.12.98 to 31.8.04; Ageing from 20.3.02 to 27.8.02; Education and Training from 27.8.02 to 31.8.04.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 12.2.15.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 26.10.04 to 10.12.06.
  • Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Leader of the House from 12.2.08 to 5.8.13.
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party from 26.6.13 to 14.10.13.
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 18.9.13 to 14.10.13.
  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services and Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs, Reconciliation and the Arts from 20.10.98 to 25.11.01.
  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 22.11.01 to 3.12.07 and from 14.10.13. Shadow Minister for Ageing and Seniors from 25.11.01 to 23.8.02; Shadow Minister for Employment Services and Training from 23.8.02 to 26.10.04; Shadow Minister for Environment and Heritage from 26.10.04 to 10.12.06; Water from 24.6.05 to 10.12.06; Water and Infrastructure from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Transport and Shadow Minister for Tourism from 18.10.13; Shadow Minister for Cities from 24.9.14.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Member, ALP from 1979.
  • ALP Assistant General Secretary (NSW) 1989-95.
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference (NSW) 1983-2008.
  • President, NSW Young Labor 1985-87.
  • Delegate, ALP National Conference 1986, 1990, 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004 and 2007.
  • Member, National Organisational Review Committee 1990-94.
  • Secretary, Warren Branch 1991-99.
  • President, Grayndler Federal Electorate Council 1992-96.
  • Member, ALP National Executive from 2004.
  • Member, ALP National Executive Committee from 2004.

Back to top


  • Born 2.3.1963, Sydney, NSW.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • BEc (Syd).
  • Bank officer 1980-81.
  • Research officer to the Minister for Local Government and Administrative Services, the Hon. T Uren, MP 1985-89.
  • Party official 1989-95 (see Party Positions above).
  • Senior Policy Adviser to the Premier (NSW), the Hon. RJ Carr 1995-96.

Back to top


  • Description: inner metropolitan.

    Location: south western Sydney; it includes the suburbs of Ashfield, Dulwich Hill, Enmore, Haberfield, Hurlstone Park, Leichhardt, Lewisham, Lilyfield, Marrickville, Petersham, Stanmore, Summer Hill, Sydenham, Tempe and parts of Annandale, Ashbury, Camperdown, Canterbury, Newtown and St Peters.

    Area: 32 sq km (approx.).

    Electors enrolled: 104 808 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: Manufacturing and service industries, engineering works.

    State electorates: Grayndler includes the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorate of Summer Hill, and parts of Balmain, Canterbury, Heffron, Newtown and Strathfield.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top