Mr Russell Broadbent MP

Russell Broadbent

Track (What's this?)

Member for McMillan, Victoria

Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4233
(02) 6277 8485

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

46C Albert Street
Warragul, VIC, 3820

Postal address
46C Albert Street
Warragul, VIC, 3820

(03) 5623 2064
(03) 5623 2509

Connect with Mr Russell Broadbent MP

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Corinella, Victoria, 1990. Defeated at general elections 1993.
  • Re-elected to the House of Representatives for McMillan, Victoria, 1996. Defeated at general elections 1998. Re-elected 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013.

Back to top

Parliamentary positions

  • Member, Speaker's Panel from 18.11.13.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Long Term Strategies from 1.6.90 to 8.2.93; Community Affairs from 7.3.91 to 8.2.93; Industry, Science and Technology from 29.5.96 to 9.10.96; Primary Industries, Resources and Rural and Regional Affairs from 29.5.96 to 2.9.97; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 30.5.96 to 9.10.96; Environment and Heritage from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07; House from 1.12.04 to 19.7.10 and from 4.12.13; Library from 1.12.04 to 7.12.05; Petitions from 11.3.08; Procedure from 25.10.10; Appropriations and Administration from 4.12.13; Privileges and Members' Interests from 4.12.13 (Chair from 4.12.13).
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts from 29.5.96 to 1.1.98; Public Accounts and Audit from 1.1.98 to 31.8.98 and from 1.12.04 to 17.10.07.
  • Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library from 28.2.06.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Member, Liberal Party from 1980.

Back to top


  • Born 25.12.1950 at Kooweerup, Vic.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • Retailer in family business.
  • Company director.
  • Member, Local Government Board 1993-94.

Back to top

Local government service

  • Councillor, Shire of Pakenham 1981-87; Shire President 1984-85.
  • Inaugural Member, Mornington Peninsula & District Water Board 1983-87.
  • Member, Pakenham Water Board 1981-87.
  • Commissioner, Dandenong Valley Authority 1984-87.
  • Chairman, Westernport Development Council 1985-90.

Back to top


  • Description: rural.
    Location: south-eastern Victoria; it includes the towns of Drouin, Erica, Foster, Inverloch, Korumburra, Leongatha, Mirboo North, Moe, Neerim South, Newboroigh, Nyora, Pakenham, Trafalgar, Walhalla, Warragul, Wonthaggi, Yallourn North and Yarragon.
    Area: 8358 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 105 739 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: dairy farming, fruit, forestry, potato growing, sawmilling, tourism and fishing.
    State electorates: McMillan includes parts of the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorates of Bass, Gembrook, Gippsland South, Morwell and Narracan.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top