Hon Darren Chester MP

Darren Chester

Track (What's this?)

Member for Gippsland, Victoria

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
The Nationals
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7680
(02) 6273 4163

Electorate Office 1

(Principal Office)

Level 1, 89 Raymond Street
SALE, VIC, 3850

Postal address
PO Box 486
SALE, VIC, 3850

(03) 5144 6744
(03) 5144 3945

Electorate Office 2

126 Franklin Street
Traralgon, VIC, 3844

Postal address
126 Franklin Street
Traralgon, VIC, 3844

(03) 5174 1341
(03) 5176 0719

Connect with Hon Darren Chester MP

Contact form  
Personal website
Party website
Assistant Minister's website

Alternative URL



In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Gippsland, Victoria at by-election 28.6.2008, vice the Hon. PJ McGauran (resigned). Re-elected 2010, 2013 and 2016.

Back to top

Ministerial appointments

  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence from 18.9.13 to 21.9.15.
  • Assistant Minister for Defence from 21.9.15 to 18.2.16.
  • Minister for Infrastructure and Transport from 18.2.16.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Petitions from 26.8.08 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Statutory: Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity from 26.8.08 to 19.7.10.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Roads and Regional Transport from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Party positions

  • State Councillor (Vic.), The Nationals 2002-04.

Back to top


  • Born 13.9.1967, Sale, Vic.
  • Married.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • Newspaper and television journalist 1986-98.
  • Self-employed marketing consultant 1998-2002.
  • Executive Officer, Champions of the Bush 2002-04.
  • Chief of Staff, PJ Ryan, MLA (Vic.) 2004-08.

Back to top


  • Description: rural.
    Location: eastern Victoria; it includes the towns of Bairnsdale, Churchill, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Morwell, Orbost, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford, Traralgon and Yarram.
    Area: 33 054 sq km (approx.).
    Electors enrolled: 99 573 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: beef, dairy, sheep and vegetable farming, cropping, sawmilling and forestry, fishing, tourism, oil, gas and electricity, correctional and defence services, including the RAAF Base at East Sale.
    State electorates: Gippsland includes the Victorian Legislative Assembly electorate of Gippsland East, and parts of Gippsland South and Morwell.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top