Hon Julie Bishop MP

Julie Bishop

Track (What's this?)

Member for Curtin, Western Australia

Minister for Foreign Affairs
Liberal Party of Australia
House of Representatives

Read biography

Seating Plan: Seating map

Contact details

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 7500
(02) 6273 4112

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

414 Rokeby Road
Subiaco, WA, 6008

Postal address
PO Box 2010
Subiaco, WA, 6904

(08) 9388 0288
(08) 9388 0299

Electorate details

Curtin electorate map

Curtin, Western Australia


In this section:

Parliamentary service

  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Curtin, Western Australia, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007 and 2010.

Back to top

Ministerial appointments

  • Minister for Ageing from 7.10.03 to 27.1.06.
  • Minister for Education, Science and Training from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women's Issues from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Minister for Foreign Affairs from 18.9.13.

Back to top

Committee service

  • House of Representatives Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 8.12.98 to 6.11.03; Privileges (nominee of the Leader of the House) from 6.2.01 to 8.10.01; Economics from 25.9.08 to 25.2.09.
  • Joint Statutory: Corporations and Securities from 9.12.98 to 11.2.02.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 20.3.02 (Chair from 21.3.02) to 4.11.03; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 10.3.09 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Select: Republic Referendum from 2.6.99 to 9.8.99.

Back to top

Conferences, delegations and visits

  • Delegate to the Australian Constitutional Convention, February 1998.
  • Australian Representative to the Commonwealth Observer Mission to the Zimbabwe Parliamentary Elections, June 2000.
  • Australian Representative to the Commonwealth Observer Mission to the Zimbabwe Presidential Elections, March 2002.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and Samoa, December 2002.
  • Official visits to China, April 2006; USA, UK and Greece, June 2006; USA, January 2009; the Middle East and Afghanistan, June 2009; Israel, August 2009; Japan, China and South Korea, October-November 2009; Hong Kong, June 2010; Israel and Morocco, December 2010; New Zealand, April 2011; Singapore, May 2011; Papua New Guinea, July 2011; Solomon Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Tuvalu and Samoa, December 2011; China, January 2012; Papua New Guinea, April 2012; Indonesia and Singapore, May 2012; Samoa, May-June 2012.
  • Member, Parliamentary Delegation to Rome for the Canonisation of Mary MacKillop, October 2010.

Back to top

Parliamentary party positions

  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 18.9.13. Shadow Minister for Employment, Business and Workplace Relations from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Treasurer from 22.9.08 to 16.2.09; Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs from 16.2.09 to 18.9.13; Shadow Minister for Trade from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party from 29.11.07.
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 3.12.07 to 18.9.13.

Back to top

Party positions

  • Branch President, Liberal Party Perth Central Branch (Perth Division) 1992-97.
  • Senior Vice-President, Liberal Party Perth Central Branch (Perth Division) 1997-98.
  • Vice-President, Liberal Party Claremont Branch (Curtin Division) 1998-2002.
  • Member, Liberal Party Crawley Branch (Curtin Division) from 2002.

Back to top


  • Born 17.7.1956, Lobethal, SA.

Back to top

Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament

  • LLB (Adel).
  • Advanced Management Program (Senior Managers) (Harvard Business School).
  • Barrister and solicitor 1979-98.
  • Managing partner, Clayton Utz, Perth, WA 1994-98.
  • Chair, Town Planning Appeal Tribunal of WA 1994-98.
  • Senate Member, Murdoch University 1997-98.
  • Director, Special Broadcasting Services Television 1997-98.
  • Director and Fellow, Australian Institute of Management 1997-98.

Back to top


  • Description: inner metropolitan.

    Location: western Perth; it includes the suburbs of Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Dalkeith, Daglish, Floreat, Glendalough, Jolimont, Leederville, Mosman Park, Mount Claremont, Mount Hawthorn, Nedlands, Peppermint Grove, Shenton Park, Subiaco, Swanbourne, Wembley, Wembley Downs, West Leederville and Woodlands, and parts of Doubleview, North Perth, Osborne Park, Scarborough and West Perth.

    Area: 104 sq km (approx.).

    Electors enrolled: 94 323 (at 7.9.13).
    Industries: recreational, light retail and hospitality. The electorate also includes the University of Western Australia.

    State electorates: Curtin includes the Western Australian Legislative Assembly electorates of Churchlands and Nedlands, and parts of Cottesloe, Perth and Scarborough.

Back to top

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Add | Email Print
Back to top