Hon Tanya Plibersek MP

Member for Sydney, New South Wales

Deputy Leader of the Opposition
Australian Labor Party
House of Representatives

Seating Plan

Seating map

Parliament Office

PO Box 6022
House of Representatives
Parliament House
Canberra ACT 2600

(02) 6277 4404
(02) 6277 2212

Electorate Office

(Principal Office)

672 Crown Street
Surry Hills
Sydney, NSW, 2010

Postal address

672 Crown Street, Surry Hills
Sydney, NSW, 2010

(02) 9379 0700
(02) 9379 0701

Connect with Hon Tanya Plibersek MP

Social media

Contact form

Personal website
Party website

Alternative URL


Electorate details

Sydney, New South Wales

Electorate map
Electorate profile


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Sydney, New South Wales, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Minister for Housing from 3.12.07 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for the Status of Women from 3.12.07 to 14.9.10.
  • Minister for Human Services from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11.
  • Minister for Social Inclusion from 14.9.10 to 14.12.11.
  • Minister for Health from 14.12.11 to 1.7.13.
  • Minister for Health and Medical Research from 1.7.13 to 18.9.13.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 31.8.00 to 8.10.01; Education and Training from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Privileges from 16.5.02 to 17.10.07.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 8.12.98 to 10.4.00 and from 20.3.02 to 31.8.04; Intelligence and Security from 12.12.13 to 26.12.14.
  • Joint Standing: Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 4.12.13 to 24.6.15.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Minister for Work and Family, Child Care and Youth and Shadow Minister for Women from 26.10.04 to 10.12.06.
  • Shadow Minister for Community from 26.10.04 to 24.6.05.
  • Shadow Minister for Human Services, Housing, Youth and Women from 10.12.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 14.10.13.
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party from 14.10.13.
  • Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development from 18.10.13 to 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Education from 23.07.16.
  • Shadow Minister for Women from 23.07.16.
Party positions
  • Member, ALP Status of Women Committee (NSW) 1994-98.
  • Member, ALP Economics Committee (NSW) from 1996-98.
  • Delegate, ALP State Conference 1996-2004.
  • Member, ALP Rosebery Branch.
  • Deputy Chair, ALP Caucus Committee on Living Standards and Economic Development.
  • Member, ALP Caucus Committee on Social Policy.
  • Member, ALP Caucus Women's Committee.
  • Born 2.12.1969 at Sydney, NSW.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA Comms (Hons) (UTS).
  • MPol. & PP (Macquarie).
  • Women's Officer, University of Technology, Sydney.
  • Domestic Violence Unit, NSW Ministry for the Status of Women.
  • Electorate officer.
    Description: inner metropolitan.
    Location: City of Sydney and inner western suburbs; it includes the suburbs of Alexandria, Balmain, Beaconsfield, Birchgrove, Broadway, Chippendale, Darlington, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Millers Point, Pyrmont, Redfern, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Zetland and parts of Annandale, Camperdown, Darlinghurst, Macdonaldtown, Newtown and Rozelle. It also includes Lord Howe Island and the harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Heads.

    Area: 44 sq km.
    Electors enrolled: 110 302 (at 2.7.16).
    Industries: commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries.

    State electorates: Sydney includes parts of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly electorates of Balmain, Heffron, Newtown, Port Macquarie (Lord Howe Island) and Sydney.