Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade (Joint)

1 July 2008 to 31 December 2008

Appointment

Pursuant to Resolution of the House of Representatives of 13 February 2008 and agreed to by the Senate on 14 February 2008.

Current Members

Senator Forshaw (Chair), Mr Hawker MP (Deputy Chair), and Senators Arbib, Bishop, Ferguson, Fifield, Hanson-Young, Johnston, Ludlam, Moore, O'Brien, Payne and Trood and Mr Baldwin MP, Mr Bevis MP, Mr Danby MP, Ms AL Ellis MP, Mr Gibbons MP, Ms Grierson MP, Mr Hale MP, Mr Macfarlane MP, Mrs Markus MP, Mrs Mirabella MP, Ms Parke MP, Ms Rea MP, Mr Ripoll MP, Mr Robert MP, Mr Ruddock MP, Ms Saffin MP, Mr Scott MP, Mr KJ Thomson MP and Ms Vamvakinou MP

Former members

Senator Cormann, The Hon A Robb AO, MP

Secretary

Phone

Dr Margot Kerley (02) 6277 4629

Current inquiries

1 July 2008-31 December 2008

- Review of the Defence Annual Report 2007–08
- Inquiry into Human Rights Mechanisms and the Asia-Pacific
- Inquiry into Australia's relationship with India as an emerging world power

Reports presented

1 July 2008–31 December 2008

• Review of the Defence Annual Report 2006–07 (1 December 2008)

Government Responses

1 July 2008–31 December 2008

- Review of the Defence Annual Report 2005–06 (13 November 2008)
- Australia's Aid Program in the Pacific (27 November 2008)

Meetings *1 July 2008–31 December 2008*

51 Private: Public: 11 Inspections/Briefings: **Total:** 2 64

Secretaries of Sub-Committees

Dr John Carter (Foreign Affairs Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4306
Mr Tas Lutterell (Trade Sub-Committee)	
Dr Margot Kerley (Defence Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4547
Ms Samantha Mannette (Human Rights Sub-Committee)	(02) 6277 4629