## State Government Financial Management

# State Government Financial Management 1 July 2008 - 31 December 2008

	Matters current as at 1 July 2008	Matters referred during period	Reports tabled that discharge a reference	Current inquiries as at 31 December 2008
Select Committee	1	0	1	0

	Number and Hours of Meeting									
	Public	Hrs	Public Estimates	Hrs	Private	Hrs	Insp/Other	Hrs	Total Meetings	Total Hours
Select Committee	4	15:01	0	0:00	3	0:51	0	0:00	7	15:52

		Meetings By State							
		ACT	NSW	VIC	TAS	SA	WA	NT	QLD
Ī									
	Select Committee	3	2	0	0	0	0	0	2

		Witnesses			Hansard Pages						
	Televised Hearings	Estimates	Other (Bills)	General	Estimates	Other (Bills)	General	No of Submissions	No Of Pages	Government Responses	
Select Committee	2	0	0	19	0	0	230	1	7	0	

## Select Committee on State Government Financial Management

1 July 2008 to 18 September 2008

### Method of appointment

Pursuant to resolution agreed to by the Senate on 14 February 2008.

Current members	Date of appointment				
Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald (QLD, LP) (elected Chair on 21.02.08)	14.02.08				
Senator Sue Boyce (QLD, LP)	01.07.08				
Senator David Bushby (TAS, LP)	14.02.08				
Senator Michael Forshaw (NSW, ALP)	14.02.08				
Senator Helen Polley (TAS, ALP)	14.02.08				
Participating members	Date of appointment				
Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (TAS, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Judith Adams (WA, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Mark Arbib (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08				
Senator Guy Barnett (TAS, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Cory Bernardi (SA, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Catryna Bilyk (TAS, ALP)	01.07.08				
Senator Simon Birmingham (SA, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Mark Bishop (WA, ALP)	12.03.08				
Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell (QLD, NATS)	17.03.08				
Senator the Hon George Brandis (QLD, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Bob Brown (TAS, AG)	14.02.08				
Senator Carol Brown (TAS, ALP)	12.03.08				
Senator Doug Cameron (NSW, ALP)	01.07.08				
Senator Michaelia Cash (WA, LP)	01.07.08				
Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck (TAS, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Jacinta Collins (VIC, ALP)	14.05.08				
Senator the Hon Helen Coonan (NSW, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Mathias Cormann (WA, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Trish Crossin (NT, ALP)	12.03.08				
Senator Alan Eggleston (WA, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator the Hon Christopher Ellison (WA, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Don Farrell (SA, ALP)	01.07.08				
Senator David Feeney (VIC, ALP)	01.07.08				
Senator Steve Fielding (VIC, FFP)	14.02.08				
Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells (NSW, LP)	17.03.08				
Senator Mitch Fifield (VIC, LP)	17.03.08				

Senator Mary Jo Fisher (SA, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Mark Furner (QLD, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan (NSW, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Gary Humphries (ACT, LP)	01.07.08
Senator Annette Hurley (SA, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Steve Hutchins (NSW, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator the Hon David Johnston (WA, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Barnaby Joyce (QLD, NATS)	17.03.08
Senator Helen Kroger (VIC, LP)	01.07.08
Senator Kate Lundy (ACT, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Gavin Marshall (VIC, ALP)	12.03.08
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	17.03.08
Senator the Hon Brett Mason (QLD, LP)	
Senator Anne McEwen (SA, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Julian McGauran (VIC, LP)	17.03.08
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas (QLD, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Christine Milne (TAS, AG)	14.02.08
Senator the Hon Nicholas Minchin (SA, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Claire Moore (QLD, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Fiona Nash (NSW, NATS)	17.03.08
Senator Kerry O'Brien (TAS, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Stephen Parry (TAS, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Marise Payne (NSW, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Louise Pratt (WA, ALP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson (VIC, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Scott Ryan (VIC, LP)	01.07.08
Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion (NT, CLP)	17.03.08
Senator Rachel Siewert (WA, AG)	14.02.08
Senator the Hon Ursula Stephens (NSW, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Glenn Sterle (WA, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator the Hon Judith Troeth (VIC, LP)	17.03.08
Senator Russell Trood (QLD, LP)	17.03.08
Senator John Williams (NSW, NATS)	01.07.08
Senator Wortley (SA, ALP)	12.03.08
Senator Nick Xenophon (SA, IND)	01.07.08
(3-3, 1-1)	0-101100
Former member	Term of appointment
	v 11
Senator Grant Chapman (SA, LP)	14.02.08–30.06.08
Former participating members	Term of appointment
	12.03.08-30.06.08
Senator George Campbell (NSW, ALP)	
Senator John Hogg (QLD, ALP)	12.03.08–26.08.08
Senator the Hon Rod Kemp (VIC, LP)	17.03.08–30.06.08
Senator Linda Kirk (SA, ALP)	12.03.08–30.06.08
Senator Ross Lightfoot (WA, LP)	17.03.08–30.06.08
Senator the Hon Sandy Macdonald (NSW, NATS)	17.03.08–30.06.08

Senator Andrew Murray (WA, AD)	14.02.08–30.06.08
Senator Kerry Nettle (NSW, AG)	14.02.08–30.06.08
Senator the Hon Kay Patterson (VIC, LP)	17.03.08–30.06.08
Senator Robert Ray (VIC, ALP)	12.03.08-05.05.08
Senator John Watson (TAS, LP)	17.03.08–30.06.08
Senator Ruth Webber (WA, ALP)	12.03.08-30.06.08

#### **Inquiry**

As at 1 July 2008

- Commonwealth and state and territory fiscal relations and state and territory government financial management, including:
  - (a) Commonwealth funding to the states and territories—historic, current and projected;
  - (b) the cash and fiscal budgetary positions of state and territory governments—historic, current and projected;
  - (c) the level of debt of state/territory government businesses and utilities—historic, current and projected;
  - (d) the level of borrowing by state/territory governments—historic, current and projected;
  - (e) an examination of state/territory net government debt and its projected level—historic, current and projected;
  - (f) the reasons for any government debt including an analysis of the level and efficiency of revenue and spending;
  - (g) the level of investment in infrastructure and state-owned utilities by state and territory governments;
  - (h) the effect of dividends paid by state-owned utilities on their ability to invest;
  - (i) present and future ownership structures of current and former stateowned utilities and the impact of ownership on investment capacity; and
  - (j) the effect of investment by state-owned utilities on Australia's capacity constraints.

#### **Current inquiry**

As at 18 September 2008

Nil

#### **Public hearings**

1 July 2008–18 September 2008

• 17 July 2008, Brisbane; 24 July 2008, Sydney; 25 July 2008, Canberra; 1 September 2008, Canberra

#### **Reports tabled**

1 July 2008–18 September 2008

• State Government Financial Management (tabled 18 September 2008)

# **Government responses** 1 July 2008–18 September 2008

Nil