Scrutiny of Bills (Legislative Scrutiny Standing)

1 January 2011 to 30 June 2011

Appointment

Pursuant to Senate Standing Order 24.

Current members

Senator the Hon H Coonan (Chair), Senator Bishop (Deputy Chair), and Senators Marshall, Pratt, Siewert and Troeth

Secretary

Phone Fax

Ms Toni Dawes (02) 6277 3050 (02) 6277 5881

Principles of the committee

The committee scrutinises bills and Acts of Parliament and reports to the Senate whether such bills or Acts, by express words or otherwise:

- trespass unduly on personal rights and liberties;
- make rights, liberties or obligations unduly dependent upon insufficiently defined administrative powers;
- make rights, liberties or obligations unduly dependent upon non-reviewable decisions;
- inappropriately delegate legislative powers; or
- insufficiently subject the exercise of legislative power to parliamentary scrutiny.

Between 1 January 2011 and 30 June 2011, the committee considered 121 bills, and commented on 67 bills in 6 Alert Digests. The committee also produced six Reports containing correspondence from Ministers addressing its concerns.

New references

1 January 2011-30 June 2011

• The future direction and role of the Scrutiny of Bills committee (referred 3 March 2011)

Alert Digests tabled

1 January 2011–30 June 2011

- No. 1 of 2011 (9 February 2011)
- No. 2 of 2011 (2 March 2011)
- No. 3 of 2011 (23 March 2011)
- No. 4 of 2011 (11 May 2011)

- No. 5 of 2011 (15 June 2011)
- No. 6 of 2011 (22 June 2011)

Reports presented

1 January 2011–30 June 2011

- First Report of 2011 (9 February 2011)
- Second Report of 2011 (2 March 2011)
- Third Report of 2011 (23 March 2011)
- Fourth Report of 2011 (11 May 2011)
- Fifth Report of 2011 (15 June 2011)
- Sixth Report of 2011 (22 June 2011)

Meetings

1 January 2011–30 June 2011

Private: 6

Briefings: 0

Total: 6