APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday, 19 March 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Sue Boyce Senator Mitch Fifield Senator Mark Furner Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

Department of Health and Ageing

Ms Mary Murnane, Deputy Secretary Mr Chris Reid, General Counsel

National Health and Medical Research Council

Professor Warwick Anderson, Chief Executive Officer

IP Australia

Mrs Fatima Beattie, Deputy Director General Mr Leo O'Keeffe, Director, Domestic Policy Ms Kristina Huynh, Policy Officer Ms Lexie Press, Senior Examiner of Patents

Dr Luigi Palombi

Dr Hazel Moir

Monday, 3 August 2009 St James Court Conference Centre, West Melbourne

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair)
Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair)
Senator Judith Adams
Senator Sue Boyce
Senator Sena

Witnesses

Intellectual Property Research Institute of Australia (IPRIA)

Associate Professor Beth Webster, Director Dr Kwanghui Lim, Associate Director Dr Chris Dent, Senior Research Fellow

Professor Diane Nicol and Dr Jane Nielsen

Human Genetics Society of Australasia

Associate Professor David Amor

Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Mr Julian Clark, Head, Business Development

Ms Carmela Monger, Intellectual Property and Contracts Manager

Breast Cancer Network Australia

Ms Lyn Swinburne AM, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Michelle Marven, Policy Manager

Ms Heather Drum, Member

Ms Kristi Smith, Member

Tuesday, 4 August 2009

St James Court Conference Centre, West Melbourne

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair)

Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair)

Senator Judith Adams

Senator Sue Boyce

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan

Senator Gary Humphries

Senator John Williams

Witnesses

Institute of Patent and Trade Mark Attorneys of Australia

Dr Trevor Davies, Councillor

Davies Collison Cave

Mr John Slattery, Consultant

FB Rice & Co

Mr Ian Rourke, Partner

Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

Dr Graeme Suthers, Chair, Genetics Advisory Committee

Mr Michael Ralston, Member, Genetics Advisory Committee

Dr Tamsin Waterhouse, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Professor Andrew Christie

Law Council of Australia, Intellectual Property Committee

Mr Richard Hamer, Partner, Allens Arthur Robinson

Mr Richard Jarvis, Partner, Davies Collison Cave

Australian Marfan Foundation

Mrs Jennifer West, Secretary

Dr Belinda Coyte (via teleconference)

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Dr Gillian Mitchell, Director, Familial Cancer Centre

Professor Stephen Fox, Director of Pathology

Professor David Bowtell, Director of Research

Wednesday, 5 August 2009

Dixson Room, State Library of New South Wales, Sydney

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan

Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair)
Senator Gary Humphries
Senator Judith Adams
Senator John Williams

Senator Sue Boyce

Witnesses

Cancer Council Australia

Professor Ian Olver, Chief Executive Officer

Professor Bruce Mann, Specialist Breast Surgeon and Surgical Oncologist, Clinical Oncological Society of Australia

Breast Cancer Action Group

Ms Janet Green, Chair

Cancer Voices NSW

Ms Sally Crossing AM, Chair

Medicines Australia

Ms Deborah Monk, Director, Innovation and Industry Policy

Clinical Associate Professor Judy Kirk, Director Familial Cancer Service, Westmead Hospital

Dr Jennifer Leary, Laboratory Director, Familial Cancer Service, Westmead Hospital

Dr Anna Ronan, Clinical Geneticist, Hunter Genetics Unit

Professor Ron Trent, Professor of Molecular Genetics, University of Sydney

Department of Industry and Investment New South Wales

Dr Gerard Cudmore, Acting Director, Office for Science and Medical Research

Thursday, 20 August 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair)

Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams

Witnesses

Dr Hazel Moir

Dr Matthew Rimmer

Professor Peter Drahos

IP Australia

Mrs Fatima Beattie, Deputy Director General

Mr Leo O'Keeffe, Director, Domestic Policy

Ms Kristina Huynh, Policy Officer

Ms Lexie Press, Senior Examiner of Patents

Department of Health and Ageing

Ms Mary McDonald, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Regulatory Policy and Governance Division

Mr Chris Reid, General Counsel

National Health and Medical Research Council

Dr Clive Morris, Chief Knowledge and Development Officer

Monday, 14 September 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan Senator John Williams

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan

Senator Gary Humphries

Senator John Williams

Witnesses

Dr Luigi Palombi

Tuesday 18 May 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

IP Australia

Mrs Fatima Beattie, Deputy Director General Mr Leo O'Keeffe, Director, Domestic Policy

Tuesday 15 June 2010 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Rachel Siewert (Chair) Senator Claire Moore (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Sue Boyce Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan

Witnesses

IP Australia

Ms Terry Moore, Director, Office of the Director General Mrs Fatima Beattie, Deputy Director General Ms Lexie Press, Senior Examiner of Patents