The Senate

Community Affairs References Committee

Gene Patents

November 2010

© Commonwealth of Australia 2010 ISBN 978-1-74229-384-4

Senate Community Affairs Committee Secretariat: Ms Naomi Bleeser (Secretary) Mr Elton Humphrey (Secretary) Mr Ivan Powell (Principal Research Officer) Mr Owen Griffiths (Principal Research Officer) Ms Leonie Peake (Research Officer) Ms Ingrid Zappe (Administrative Assistant) Ms Sophia Fernandes (Administrative Assistant) Ms Victoria Robinson-Conlon (Administrative Assistant) Ms Tegan Gaha (Administrative Assistant)

The Senate Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Phone: 02 6277 3515 Fax: 02 6277 5829 E-mail: community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_ca

This document was produced by the Senate Community Affairs Committee Secretariat and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

43rd Parliament

Members

Senator Rachel Siewert, Chair

Senator Claire Moore, Deputy Chair

Senator Judith Adams

Senator Sue Boyce

Senator Carol Brown

Senator the Hon. Helen Coonan

AG, Western Australia ALP, Queensland

LP, Western Australia

LP, Queensland

ALP, Tasmania

LP, New South Wales

Participating Members for this inquiry

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan

Senator Gary Humphries

LP, New South Wales LP, Australian Capital Territory

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE 42nd Parliament, from 14 May 2009

Members

Senator Rachel Siewert, Chair Senator Claire Moore, Deputy Chair

Senator Judith Adams

Senator Sue Boyce

Senator Carol Brown

Senator John Williams

Senator the Hon. Helen Coonan

Participating Members for this inquiry

Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan

Senator Gary Humphries

AG, Western Australia

ALP, Queensland

LP, Western Australia

LP, Queensland

ALP, Tasmania

NATS, New South Wales until 2 February 2010

LP, New South Wales from 2 February 2010

LP, New South Wales LP, Australian Capital Territory

42nd Parliament, until 14 May 2009

Members

Senator Claire Moore, Chair	ALP, Queensland
Senator Rachel Siewert, Deputy Chair	AG, Western Australia
Senator Judith Adams	LP, Western Australia
Senator Catryna Bilyk	ALP, Tasmania
Senator Sue Boyce	LP, Queensland
Senator Carol Brown	ALP, Tasmania
Senator Mark Furner	ALP, Queensland
Senator Gary Humphries	LP, Australian Capital Territory
Participating Members for this inquiry	
Senator Mitch Fifield	LP, Victoria
Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan	LP, New South Wales