# **APPENDIX 2**

# **Public Hearings**

Wednesday, 15 January 2014

Senate Committee Room 2S3

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

#### **National Commission of Audit**

Mr Tony Shepherd AO, Chair

Dr Peter Boxall AO

Mr Tony Cole AO

Mr Robert Fisher AM

The Hon Amanda Vanstone

#### **National Commission of Audit Secretariat**

Mr Peter Crone, Head of Secretariat

Mr John Grant, First Assistant Secretary

## **Department of Finance**

Ms Rosemary Huxtable, Deputy Secretary, Budget Group

Ms Teena Blewitt, First Assistant Secretary, Budget Policy Coordination

Division

Ms Amanda Lee, Assistant Secretary, Budget Coordination Branch

Wednesday, 5 February 2014

Senate Committee Room 2S3

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

#### **Grattan Institute** (via teleconference)

Mr John Daley, Chief Executive Officer

## **Australian Council of Trade Unions (via teleconference)**

Mr Tim Lyons, Assistant Secretary

Mr Matt Cowgill, Economic Policy Officer

#### **Australia Institute**

Dr Richard Denniss, Executive Director

Mr David Richardson, Senior Research Fellow

#### **Business Council of Australia** (via teleconference)

Ms Maria Tarrant, Deputy Chief Executive

Mr Jarrod Ball, Acting Chief Economist

# **Australian Industry Group** (via teleconference)

Dr Peter Burn, Director of Policy

Mr Ian McAuley, Fellow, Centre for Policy Development

Ms Jennifer Doggett, Fellow, Centre for Policy Development

Mr Stephen Koukoulas, Managing Director, Market Economics

# **Parliamentary Budget Office**

Mr Phil Bowen, Parliamentary Budget Officer

## The Treasury

Mr Nigel Ray, Executive Director, Fiscal Group

Ms Luise McCulloch, General Manager, Budget Policy Division

Mr Jason Allford, General Manager, Domestic Economy Division

Mr Robert Ewing, Manager, Assets Liabilities and Intergenerational Report Unit

Tuesday, 18 February 2014

Senate Committee Room 2S3

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

#### **Mental Health Council of Australia**

Mr Frank Quinlan, Chief Executive Officer

# **Australian Health and Hospitals Association**

Ms Alison Verhoeven, Chief Executive Officer

Dr Anne-marie Boxall, Director, Deeble Institute for Health Policy Research

#### **Consumers Health Forum of Australia**

Ms Rebecca Vassarotti, Director of Policy

## **Centre for Independent Studies**

Ms Simon Cowan, Research Fellow, Target 30 Program Director

## **Grattan Institute** (via teleconference)

Dr Stephen Duckett

#### **Australian Services Union**

Mr Greg McLean, Assistant National Secretary

# National Centre for Social and Economic Modelling, University of Canberra

Professor Laurie Brown, Research Director

Mr Ben Phillips, Principal Research Fellow

#### **Australian Council of Social Services**

Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer

Dr Tessa Boyd-Caine, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Mr Peter Davidson, Senior Advisor

# Mr Terry Barnes, Principal, Cormorant Policy Advice

## **Catholic Social Services**

Ms Jackie Brady, A/Executive Director

Thursday, 13 March 2014

Cliftons Melbourne

2/440 Collins Street, Melbourne

Witnesses

## **Committee for Geelong**

Mr Dan Simmonds, Chairperson

Ms Rebecca Casson, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Australian Council of Trade Unions**

Mr Tim Lyons, Assistant Secretary

Mr Matt Cowgill, Economic Policy Officer

#### **Australian Solar Council**

Mr John Grimes, Chief Executive Officer

# **Community and Public Sector Union (PSU Group)**

Ms Nadine Flood, National Secretary

Ms Karen Atherton, National Political Coordinator

#### **Mr Bernard Salt**

# Australian Industry Group (via teleconference)

Dr Peter Burn, Director of Policy

#### **Youth Connections National Network**

Ms Rebekha Sharkie, National Executive Officer

Mr Danny Schwartz, Victorian Representative

Tuesday, 1 April 2014

Committee Room 1

Legislative Assembly Committee Office

Level 1, 11 Harvest Terrace, West Perth

Witnesses

# **Community and Public Sector Union (PSU Group)**

Ms Sue Bowers, WA Secretary

Ms Toni Walkington, Branch Secretary, Community and SPSF Group,

Western Australian Branch

Ms Karen Atherton, National Political Coordinator

#### **West Australian Council of Social Service**

Mr Chris Twomey, Director of Social Policy

# Anglicare WA and Service Provider at Foyer Oxford

Mr Ian Carter, Chief Executive Officer

# **UnitingCare West**

Ms Sue Ash, Chief Executive Officer

#### Rise

Ms Justine Colyer, Chief Executive Officer

#### Youth Affairs Council of Western Australia

Mr Craig Comrie, Chief Executive Officer

# **Community Legal Centres Association (WA)**

Mr David Kernohan, Chair

Ms Sara Kane, Deputy Chair

# Women's Law Centre WA

Ms Lesley Kirkwood, Managing Solicitor

## **Aboriginal Family Law Services**

Ms Mary Cowley, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Eddie Oxenbridge, Chair

Mr James Segedin, Corporate Services Manager

# **Aboriginal Legal Services**

Mr Dennis Eggington, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Peter Collins, Director of Legal Services

# Tuesday, 15 April 2014

Senate Committee Room 2S1

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

#### **Minerals Council of Australia**

Mr Brendan Pearson, Chief Executive Officer

Mr James Sorahan, Director Taxation

## The McKell Institute

Mr Sam Crosby, Executive Director

## **Australian Centre for Economic Research on Health**

Professor Jim Butler, Director and Professor

#### **Public Health Association of Australia**

Ms Melanie Walker, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

## Per Capita

Mr David Hetherington, Executive Director

## **The Property Council**

Ms Caryn Kakas, Head, External and Government Affairs

# Professor John Quiggin, Professor/ARC Laureate Fellow, University of Queensland

Dr John Hewson, Professor/Chair, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute, Australian National University

# The Treasury

Ms Leesa Croke, General Manager, Social Policy Division

Ms Laura Llewellyn, Principal Adviser, Social Policy Division

Mr Rob Heferen, Executive Director, Revenue Group

Mr Paul Tilley, General Manager, Personal and Retirement Income Division

Mr Roger Brake, General Manager, Tax Analysis Division

Friday, 2 May 2014

Senate Committee Room 2S1

Parliament House, Canberra

Witnesses

### **National Commission of Audit**

Mr Tony Shepherd AO, Chair

Mr Peter Crone, Head of Secretariat