

Issued: 19 June 2013

Chair – Mr Graham Perrett MP Deputy – Hon Judi Moylan MP

## TWEET YOUR QUESTIONS TO CONSTITUTIONAL ROUNDTABLE DISCUSSION

Members of the public will be able to question constitutional experts via Twitter as part of a roundtable discussion on Australia's Constitution being hosted by the House Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs.

The roundtable discussion is being held on Thursday, 20 June 2013 and participants include:

- Professor George Williams The Anthony Mason Professor, a Scientia Professor and the Foundation Director of the Gilbert + Tobin Centre of Public Law at the Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales.
- Dr Gabrielle Appleby Senior Lecturer at the University of Adelaide Law School.
- Sir David Smith Official Secretary to Governors General from 1973-1990.
- Mr Jack Waterford Editor-at-Large of The Canberra Times.
- Professor Anne Twomey Professor of Constitutional Law at the University of Sydney Law School, and the director of the university's Constitutional Reform Unit.
- Associate Professor Mark McKenna Associate Professor of History at University of Sydney
- Emeritus Professor John Warhurst Emeritus Professor of Political Science, Australian National University

The topics under discussion will be:

 9:15am – 10:30am
10.45am – 12.00pm
The role of the High Court in interpreting the Constitution -Dr Gabrielle Appleby (@Gabrielle\_J\_A) will provide opening remarks.
Campaigning to change the Constitution -Professor George Williams (@ProfGWilliams) will provide opening remarks.

Twitter users may tweet their questions to the House of Representatives Twitter account - @Aboutthehouse – and by using the hashtag #AusCon from 9.15am to 11.30am.

The Committee Chair, Mr Graham Perrett MP (@GrahamPerrettMP) said "This roundtable discussion is timely as the Parliament this week is debating a proposed amendment to the Constitution which will be put to voters at a referendum on financial recognition of local government later this year".

Constitutional Roundtable Meeting **Public welcome to observe** 9.15am-12.00pm Thursday, 20 June 2013 Main Committee Room Parliament House, Canberra

The meeting will be broadcast live at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/live</u>. For further information about the Constitutional Roundtable and how you can participate, see the About the House news webpage at www.aph.gov.au/ath or contact the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 2358.

For media comment, please contact the Committee Chair, Mr Graham Perrett MP, on (07) 3344 2622 or 0423 280 131.		
For background information, please contact the Secretariat of the Committee on Social Policy and Legal Affairs:		
PO Box 6021	Telephone:	02 6277 2358
PARLIAMENT HOUSE	Facsimile:	02 6277 4427
CANBERRA	E-mail:	spla.reps@aph.gov.au
ACT 2600	Website:	www.aph.gov.au/spla