

## Appendix C - Public hearings and witnesses

Organisations and persons are listed in alphabetical order and under each public hearing day.

## Wednesday, 29 October 2003 - Sydney

### **Australian Salinity Action Network**

Dr John Bradd (Founder and National Coordinator)

### Centre for Salinity Assessment and Management (Sydney University)

Professor Les Copeland (Director, and Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, University of Sydney)

Dr Inakwu Odeh (Senior Research Fellow)

Dr John Triantafilis (Senior Research Fellow)

Mr Kim Wright (General Manager, Earth Resources Foundation, University of Sydney)

### Hawkesbury-Nepean Catchment Management Board

Mrs Mary Howard (Deputy Chair)

Mr Stephen Nichols (Senior Natural Resources Officer, Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Natural Resources)

### **New South Wales Farmers' Association**

Mr Andrew Huckel (Senior Analyst)

Mr Jonathan Streat (Policy Manager, Conservation and Resource Management)

#### **NSW Government**

Dr Dugald Black (Manager, Resources Processes Branch, Centre for Natural Resources, Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Natural Resources)

Dr Michael Curll (Deputy Director-General, New South Wales Department of Agriculture)

### **Private Capacity**

Dr Robert Creelman (Project Manager, Nanotechnology Project, University of Western Sydney)

Dr Jerzy Jankowski (Senior Lecturer, University of NSW)

### **Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils**

Mr Colin Kandan-Smith (Senior Project Officer, Environment)

## Thursday, 30 October 2003 - Wagga Wagga

### **Murray Catchment Management Board**

Mr Anthony Dawson (Landscape Manager)

### **Private Capacity**

Mr Sydney Clarke

### Wagga Wagga City Council

Mr Bryan Short (Director, Asset Management)

Councillor Kevin Wales (Mayor)

Mrs Kay Hull MP (Member for Riverina)

## Friday, 31 October 2003 - Shepparton

### **Australian Conservation Foundation**

Mr Michael Watts (Sustainable Rural Landscapes Campaigner)

### **Murray Irrigation Ltd**

Mr Alex Marshall (Manager, Environment)

### Phil Dyson and Associates Pty Ltd

Mr Philip Dyson (Director)

### **Sinclair Knight Merz**

Mr Greg Hoxley (Principal Hydrogeologist and National Salinity Coordinator)

### **Private Capacity**

The Hon. Dr Sharman Stone (Federal Member for Murray)

## Monday, 3 November 2003 - Canberra

### **National Dryland Salinity Program**

Mr Andrew Campbell (Executive Director, Land and Water Australia)

Dr Richard Price (National Manager, National Dryland Salinity Program)

Mr Kevin Goss (Chair, National Dryland Salinity Program)

## Friday, 7 November 2003 - Canberra

# Australian Government Departments of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry; and the Environment and Heritage

Mr Peter Baker (Program Leader, Integrated Water Sciences Program, Bureau of Rural Sciences)

Dr Rhondda Dickson (Acting First Assistant Secretary, Land, Water and Coasts Division—Department of the Environment and Heritage)

Dr Colin Grant (Deputy Executive Director, Bureau of Rural Sciences)

Mr Mike Lee (General Manager, Commonwealth Regional Natural Resource Management—Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry)

Mr Ian Thompson (Executive Manager, Natural Resource Management— Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry)

Mr Simon Veitch (Manager, Industry Involvement in Natural Resource Management—Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

### **Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation**

Dr Mirko Stauffaker (Research Director, Salinity Directorate, Land and Water Division)

Dr John Williams (Chief, Land and Water Division)

### **Grains Research and Development Corporation**

Dr Martin Blumenthal (Program Manager, Sustainable Farming Systems)

Dr Philip Price (External Consultant, Sustainable Farming Systems Program)

### Land and Water Australia

Mr Andrew Campbell (Executive Director)

### **Murray-Darling Basin Commission**

Dr Michele Akeroyd (Salinity Program Officer)

Mr Kevin Goss (Deputy Chief Executive)

Mr Warwick McDonald, (Director, Integrated Catchment Management Business)

Mr Robert Newman (Part-Time Coordinator for Salinity Management)

### Natural Resource Intelligence Pty Ltd

Dr Brian Tunstall (Research Development Manager and Acting General Manager)

### Wednesday, 12 November 2003 - Perth

# **Cooperative Research Centre for Landscape Environments and Mineral Exploration**

Dr Dennis Gee (Chief Executive Officer)

Mr Paul Wilkes (Deputy Chief Executive Officer)

### Forest Products Commission of Western Australia

Dr John McGrath (Manager, Technical Services Branch)

### Western Australian Salinity Research and Development Technical Committee

Mr Rex Edmondson (Chairman, Natural Resource Management Council of Western Australia)

Dr Thomas Hatton (Member)

Dr Donald McFarlane (Chairman)

### Thursday, 13 November 2003 - Perth

### Cooperative Research Centre for Plant-Based Management of Dryland Salinity

Professor Philip Cocks (Chief Executive Officer)

### Murdoch University

Associate Professor Richard Bell (Associate Professor, School of Environmental Science)

Dr Susan Moore (Senior Lecturer, School of Environmental Science)

#### Western Australian Farmers Federation

Mr Andrew McMillan (Director of Policy)

Mr Colin Nicholl (President)

# Monday, 24 November 2003 - Canberra

### **Australian Spatial Information Business Association**

Mr Paul Farrell (Director)

Mr David Hocking (Chief Executive Officer)

Mr Greg Hoxley (Member)

Mr James Moody (Director)

### **Private Capacity**

Dr Robin Batterham (Chief Scientist)

# Monday, 1 December 2003 - Canberra

### Landmark

Mr David Coombes (General Manager, Marketing)