

"Comfortable Country Living"

Telephone: (02) 6835 9000 Facsimile: (02) 6835 9011 Email: admin@boganshire.com www.bogan.local-e.nsw.gov.au ABN: 68 886 242 083 Address all communications to: The General Manager PO Box 221 Nyngan NSW 2825 Council Chambers 81 Cobar Street Nyngan New South Wales Australia

20th December 2010

The Committee Secretary
House of Representatives Standing
Committee on Regional Australia
PO Box 6021
Parliament House
CANBERRA ACT 2600



Dear Sir/Madam

Submission from Bogan Shire Council for the Murray Darling Authority, Federal Parliamentary Inquiry and Senate Inquiry.

Bogan Shire Council based at Nyngan in Central NSW would like to contribute to the current inquiry into the Murray Darling Basin Plan and proposed cut backs to the availability of water to provide more for the rivers environmental health. The series of public meetings held after the discussion paper of the Murray Darling Basin Plan was released, clearly indicated from all communities that enormous concern existed about the correct balance needed between the socio economic effect on communities of cut backs and the need for more water for environmental health.

Smaller communities like ours, who live on the Bogan River, should not have their future irrigation, business and employment growth put at risk by excessive cut backs to the river systems. These initial cut backs have been far too large and not based on reliable sources but seem to have been based on figures almost "plucked out of the air". Serious reassessments need to be made now particularly after recent heavy rains and flooding in all catchments.

The growth of the mining industry in our area and many others puts forward a very legitimate case for future increases in allocations; these should not be put at risk by excessive allocations for the environment. Town water supplies should also be guaranteed from any system cuts in the future to ensure stability and future growth of communities.

Yours faithfully

Ray Donald Mayor

Copies:

Committee Secretary
Senate Standing Committee on Rural Affairs and Transport
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
CANBERRA ACT 2600

Murray Darling Basin Authority PO Box 3001 CANBERRA ACT 2601