

Appendix A – Meetings

Westminster

Mrs Susan Morrison, Procedure Committee Assistant Clerk

Tour of Palace of Westminster

House of Lords round table

Lord Brabazon of Tara, Chairman of Committees

Lord Grocott, Government Chief Whip (PPS to Tony Blair 1994-2001)

Lord Shutt of Greetland, Liberal Democrat Chief Whip

Lord Williamson of Horton, Convenor of Crossbench Peers

Andrew Makower, Clerk of the Procedure Committee

Rhodri Walters. Clerk of Committees and the Overseas Office

Rt Hon Hilary Armstrong MP, Government Chief Whip

Alan Sandall, Deputy Principal Clerk, Public Bill Office: programming of legislation and bills etc

Andrew Kennon, Principal Clerk, Select Committees: scrutiny of legislation in terms of pre-legislative scrutiny of draft bills before select committees and resources for select committees

Christine McCafferty MP

Reception at Australia House (hosted by Deputy High Commissioner)

Modernisation Committee

Procedure Committee

54 STUDY PROGRAM 2006

Prime Minister's Question Time

Scottish Parliament

Margaret Neal, External Liaison Officer and Assistant Secretary, Scotland Branch of the CPA [presentation on Devolution and the Scottish Parliament]

Bill Aitken MSP and Margo MacDonald MSP [functions of the Scottish Parliamentary Bureau]

Donald Gorrie MSP Convener, Karen Gillon MSP Deputy Convener, Jonathon Elliot and Mary Dinsdale, Clerks of the Procedures Committee [all aspects of the procedural committee and how changes take place]

First Ministers Question Time

Members of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (Scotland Branch) Executive Committee (James Douglas-Hamilton MSP and Jamie Stone MSP

Michael McMahon MSP Convener and Dr James Johnson Clerk of the Petitions Committee [all areas of petition work, focusing on e-petitions]

Kenny MacAskill MSP, John Scott MSP and Duncan McNeil MSP – Members of the Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body and Judith Proudfoot (Secretary), [role of the Corporate Body]

Deputy Presiding Officer, Trish Godman MSP

Elizabeth Watson, Head of Committee Office [staffing of Committees, public participation/fact finding events and external committees]

Ken Hughes, Head of Chamber Office [electronic voting arrangements, Question Time and First Ministers Question Time]

Irene Fleming, Senior Assistant Clerk, Business Team [Parliamentary Timetables]

Ken Hughes Head of Chamber Office, Elizabeth Watson, Head of Committee Office, Irene Fleming, Business Team and Margaret Neal, Assistant Secretary CPA (Scotland Branch)

Tour of the Scottish Parliament

Tynwald (Isle of Man)

Speaker of House of Keys – Hon J.A. (Tony) Brown and President of Legislative Council [with Clerk Malachy Cornwell-Kelly]

Tour of House of Keys and Legislative Council Chambers

APPENDIX A – MEETINGS 55

Speaker Brown [work of the chambers and Tynwald Court]

Observation of opening prayers, debate and formal vote in Tynwald

Jack Keighly [Tynwald Hill – site where laws read aloud on Tynwald Day and St John's Church on Tynwald Hill].

Welsh National Assembly

Guided tour of Senedd and Pierhead. Overseas and External Relations Unit.

Andrew George, Head of Chamber Services and Clerk to the Business Committee.

[Demonstration of Information and Communication Technology in the Senedd Siambr]

Gill Lambert, Head of Public Information and Education [Engaging the Public; Briefing and discussion]

Dianne Bevan, Deputy Clerk to the Assembly and Clerk to the House Committee [House matters; committees; briefing and discussion]

Andrew George, Clerk of the Business Committee [Assembly Business; briefing and discussion]

French National Assembly

Ms Pascale Forget, External Affairs [Tour of Palais Bourbon with a history of the institution]

Mr Philippe Houillon, President of the Legislation Committee [Session of questions to the Government]

Mrs Corinne Luquiens, Director of the Office of Procedure