Α

Appendix A

Conduct of the inquiry and evidence

The committee resolved at its meeting on 28 February 2001 to conduct an inquiry into the procedures for the opening of Parliament. The terms of reference appear at the front of this report.

The committee surveyed all Members and Senators and sought submissions from a range of potentially interested parties. The inquiry was notified in the *Australian* (7 March 2001), on the committee's Internet page and through a media release issued on 14 March 2001.

Evidence received by the committee

Sixty Members (40%) and 21 Senators (28%) responded to the survey.

Submissions were received from the following people:

Mr Martin Bonsey, Official Secretary to the Governor-General

Mr Harry Evans, Clerk of the Senate

Dr Chris Gourlay

Mr Ian Harris, Clerk of the House

Hon Bill Hayden AC

Ms Adrienne Isnard

Mr Tony Lamb, Vice-President, Association of Former Members of the Parliament of Australia

Mrs Ruth MacKinnon

Mr Don Morris, Private Secretary to the President of the Senate

Senator Aden Ridgeway

Dr Glenister Sheil, Queenslanders for a Constitutional Monarchy (2 submissions)

Rt Hon Sir Ninian Stephen KG AK GCMG GCVO KBE

Dr Greg Taylor, Law School, Adelaide University

An unknown author