Α

Appendix A

Participants in the inquiry

The following is a list of Members, parliamentary officers, public and private organisations and individuals who assisted the inquiry either by way of submissions, exhibits or participation in round table discussions:

Hon J N Andrew MP, Chairman, Joint Committee on the Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings, and Speaker of the House

Australian Computer Society

Ms F E Bailey MP, Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Primary Industries and Regional Services

Dr Andrew Brien, Associate Director, Centre for Professional and Applied Ethics, and Chair, Ethics in Government and the Public Service Program, Charles Sturt University

Hon I R Causley MP, Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Environment and Heritage

Senator Grant Chapman, Chairman, Joint Committee on Corporations and Securities

Ms M Crooks, Secretary, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Communications, Transport and the Arts

Department of the House of Representatives

Mr I Dundas, Secretary, House of Representatives Standing Committees on Primary Industries and Regional Services, and Environment and Heritage

Mr D Elder, Clerk Assistant (Committees), Department of the House of Representatives Ms A L Ellis MP, Deputy Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Family and Community Affairs

Ms B Forbes, Secretary, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Economics, Finance and Public Administration, and Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters

Ms P Gardiner

Ms G Gould, Secretary, Joint Standing Committees on Migration, and National Capital and External Territories

Prof. Bruce Guerin, Director, Flinders Institute of Public Policy and Management, Flinders University of South Australia

Mr Grant Harrison

Mr Bob Holderness-Roddam

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Primary Industries and Regional Services

Internet Society of Australia

Mrs J Irwin MP, Deputy Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Environment and Heritage

Dr M Kerley, Secretary, Joint Committee of Public Accounts and Audit

Hon L S Lieberman MP, Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

Mr A Lomp, Director, Liaison and Projects Office, Department of the House of Representatives

Mr M McLean, Secretary, Joint Committee on the National Crime Authority

Mr P McMahon, Secretary, House of Representatives Standing Committees on Industry, Science and Resources, and Employment, Education and Workplace Relations

Dr Mary Maxwell

Mr A A Morris MP, Deputy Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Resources

Mr G R Nairn MP, Chair, Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters

Dr B J Nelson MP, Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Employment, Education and Workplace Relations

Mr P C Neville MP, Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Communications, Transport and the Arts Ms Filomena Nichols

Mr F Nugent, Secretary, Joint Committee on Corporations and Securities

Mr P Nugent MP, Chair, Joint Committee on the National Crime Authority

Hon Peter Reith MP, Leader of the House and Minister for Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business

Mr Tony Robinson MP, Member for Mitcham, Parliament of Victoria

Ms N L Roxon MP, Deputy Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs

Mr R W Sawford MP, Deputy Chair, House of Representatives Standing Committee on Employment, Education and Workplace Relations

Hon A M Somlyay MP, Chair, House of Representatives Committee of Privileges and Chair, House of Representatives Committee of Members' Interests

Ms M Swieringa, Secretary, Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Mr Tom Worthington

The following people supplied information relating to the practices in other legislatures:

Mr A V Bray, Clerk, Legislative Council, Victoria

Mr Harry Evans, Clerk of the Senate

Mr John Evans, Clerk, Legislative Council, New South Wales

Mr Russell D Grove, Clerk, Legislative Assembly, New South Wales

Mr Peter J McHugh, Clerk, Legislative Assembly, Western Australia

Mr R J S McKenzie, Clerk, Legislative Council, Tasmania

Mr Ray Purdey, Clerk, Legislative Assembly, Victoria