# С

# Appendix C – List of Witnesses appearing at Public Hearings

# Canberra – 31 July 2006

Security Legislation Review Committee The Hon Simon Sheller AO QC – Chair Mr Ian Carnell – Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

**Gilbert+Tobin Centre of Public Law (University of New South Wales)** Professor George Williams – Anthony Mason Professor and Centre Director Dr Andrew Lynch – Director, Terrorism and Law Project Ms Edwina MacDonald – Senior Research Officer

**Islamic Information and Support Centre of Australia Inc** Mr Mustafa Kocak – Senior Advisor

## Canberra – 1 August 2006

### Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoff McDonald – Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch Ms Kirsten Kobus – Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch

### **Australian Federal Police**

Federal Agent John Lawler – Deputy Commissioner Federal Agent Frank Prendergast – National Manager, Counter-Terrorism Mr Peter Whowell – Manager, Legislation Program

### **Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions**

Mr Damian Bugg AM QC – Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions Mr James Carter – Senior Assistant Director, Legal and Practice Management Branch Ms Stefanie Cordina – Principal Legal Officer, Commercial, International and Counter-Terrorism Branch

### **Australian Customs**

Mr Jeffrey Buckpitt – National Director, Border Compliance and Enforcement Ms Jan Dorrington – National Director, Border Intelligence and Passengers Mr John Valastro – National Manager, Law Enforcement Strategy and Security Ms Roxanne Kelley – National Manager, Research and Development Mr Brian Hurrell – National Manager, Enforcement Operations Mr Terry Price – Director, Enforcement Development

### Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Ms Joanna Hemingway - Lawyer

### Australian Muslim Civil Rights Network

Dr Waleed Kadous – Co-convenor Ms Agnes Chong – Co-convenor