

THE COMMONWEALTH PARLIAMENT PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Telephone 02 6277 2360 ~ Facsimile 02 6277 2067 ~ E-mail pjcis@aph.gov.au

PROGRAMME PUBLIC HEARING

Inquiry into the terrorist organisation listing provisions of the Criminal Code Act 1995

WEDNESDAY 4 APRIL 2007 COMMITTEE ROOM 2R1 9.00 am – 4.30 pm

9.00am <u>Federation of Ethnic Communities</u>

Mr Mark Kulasingham, Director

9.45am <u>Law Council of Australia</u>

Mr Peter Webb, Secretary-General Ms Helen Donovan, Policy Lawyer

10.30am Associate Professor Russell Hogg

11.15am Dr Patrick Emerton

12.00pm Australian-Tamil Rights Advocacy Council

Mr Pratheepan Balasubramaniam, Committee Member and

Spokesperson

Dr Jeyarajan Maheswaran, External Advisor

12.45pm Lunch

1. 30pm Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr John von Doussa AO QC, President Ms Frances Simmons, Associate to the President

2.30pm Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Vincent McMahon, First Assistant Secretary, Border Security Division Mr Stephen Allen, Assistant Secretary Mr Karl Higgins, Director, National Security and Counter Terrorism Section

3.15pm Attorney General's Department

Mr Geoff McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch Ms Kirsten Kobus, Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Deputy Director-General

Department of Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Mr Perry Head, Assistant Secretary, Counter-Terrorism Branch Ms Susan Grace, Director, Counter-Terrorism Policy Section Ms Alison Duncan, Executive Officer, Counter-Terrorism Policy Section Mr Adam McCarthy. Assistant Secretary, International Legal Branch Mr Justin Whyatt, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section

4.30pm Adjournment

Jane Hearn Inquiry Secretary April 2007