

Appendix B - List of Witnesses appearing at Private and Public Hearings

Canberra (Public Hearing) - 19 May 2005

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO)

Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General of Security

Legal Adviser

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoffrey McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch

Ms Annette Willing, Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Mr Douglas Rutherford, Senior Legal Officer, Security Law Branch

Australian Federal Police

Dr Grant Wardlaw, National Manager Intelligence

Federal Agent Simon Crowther, Senior Legislation Officer

Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Professor John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Damien Browne, Senior Assistant Ombudsman

Mrs Elizabeth Hampton, Director, Law Enforcement

Canberra (Private Hearing) – 19 May 2005

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO)

Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General of Security

Legal Adviser

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoffrey McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch

Ms Annette Willing, Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division

Mr Douglas Rutherford, Senior Legal Officer, Security Law Branch

Australian Federal Police

Dr Grant Wardlaw, National Manager Intelligence

Federal Agent Simon Crowther, Senior Legislation Officer

Prescribed Authority

Canberra (Public Hearing) – 20 May 2005

Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Mr Ian Carnell, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Mr Neville Bryan, Principal Investigation Officer

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

The Hon. John von Doussa QC, President

Mr Craig Lenehan, Deputy Director, Legal Services Section

Professor George Williams - private capacity

Dr Greg Carne - private capacity

Sydney (Public Hearing) – 6 June 2005

Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance

Mr Mark Ryan, Assistant Federal Secretary

John Fairfax Holdings Ltd

Mr Bruce Wolpe, Manager Corporate Affairs

Australian Press Council

Professor Kenneth McKinnon, Chairman

Mr Jack Herman, Executive Secretary

Law Council of Australia

Mr John North, President

National Association of Community Legal Centres

Ms Julie Bishop, Director

Ms Joanna Shulman, Convener

Ms Annie Pettitt, Convener

Ms Alison Aggarwal, Human Rights Policy Officer

Islamic Council of New South Wales

Mr Ali Roude, Deputy Chairman

Australian Muslim Civil Rights Advocacy Network (AMCRAN)

Dr Mohammed Kadous, Co-convener

Ms Agnes Chong, Co-convener

Public Interest Advocacy Centre

Ms Robin Banks, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Jane Stratton, Policy Officer

Sydney (Private Hearing) – 6 June 2005

Lawyers for subjects of warrants

Issuing Authority

Melbourne (Public Hearing) – 7 June 2005

Law Institute of Victoria

Mr Robert Stary, Executive Member, Criminal Law Section

Mrs Claire Macken, Member, Administrative and Human Rights Section

Mr Joo-Cheong Tham – private capacity

Mr Stephen Sempill - private capacity

Mr Patrick Emerton – private capacity

Victoria Legal Aid

Mr Simon Moglia, Associate Public Defender

Federation of Community Legal Centres (Victoria)

Ms Marika Dias, Representative

Mr Richard Duffy, Representative

Mr Dan Nicholson, Representative

Islamic Council of Victoria

Mr Rowan Gould, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Victoria Sentas, Volunteer

Amnesty Interntional

Ms Nicole Bieske, Member of National Legal Team

Ms Rebecca Smith, Advocacy Coordinator

Melbourne (Private Hearing) – 7 June 2005

Lawyer for subject of warrants

Canberra (Private Hearing) – 8 August 2005

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Paul O'Sullivan, Director-General of Security

Legal Adviser

Assistant Legal Adviser

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoffrey McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Security Law Branch Ms Annette Willing, Principal Legal Officer, Security Law Branch Mr Douglas Rutherford, Senior Legal Officer, Security Law Branch

Canberra (Private Hearing) – 18 August 2005

Lawyer for subject of warrants