

Appendix D – Witnesses appearing at public hearings

Monday, 30 April 2012 - Lord Howe Island

Shire of Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Mr Alan Clark, Manager, Works & Services Mr Peter Clarke, Chief Executive Officer Councillor Aindil Minkom, Shire President

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Tourism Association

Mrs Julianne Bush, Marketing Manager

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Economic Development Consultative Group

Mr Semat Noom, Committee Member

Indian Ocean Territories

Mr Brian Lacy, Administrator

Christmas Island Tourism Association

Ms Linda Cash, Marketing Manager Ms Lisa Preston, Chairperson

Norfolk Island Government

Hon Andre Nobbs MLA, Minister for Tourism, Industry & Development Hon Timothy Sheridan MLA, Minister for Community Services

Norfolk Island Tourism Advisory Board

Mrs Louise Tavener, Board Member

Lord Howe Island Board

Mr Alistair Henchman, Chair Mr Barney Nichols, Deputy Chair & Member

Private Capacity

Professor Philip Hayward, Professor, Southern Cross University; and Convenor, Small Island Cultures Research Initiative

Monday, 22 October 2012 - Home Island

Shire of Cocos (Keeling) Islands

Councillor Rosly Arkrie Mr Alan Clark, Manager of Works & Services Mr Peter Clarke, Chief Executive Officer Councillor Aindil Minkom, President Mr Paul Rawlings, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Cocos Islands Co-operative Society

Mrs Aeysha Abdullah, Chair, Management Committee Mr Ratma Anthoney, Member, Management Committee Mr Azim Denis, Member, Management Committee Mr Ron Grant, General Manager Mr Balmut Piros, Secretary

Cocos Islands Islamic Association

Mr Haji Adam Anthony, Imam of Cocos (Keeling) Islands Mr Aindil Minkom, President Mr Mohammed Minkom, Secretary Mr Azlany Dollar, Member Mr Zakaria Lakina, Member

Cocos (Keeling) Islands Tourism Association

Mrs Julianne Bush, Marketing Manager Mrs Kerenda Keogh, Visitor Centre Coordinator

Private Capacity

Councillor Rosly Arkrie Mr John Clunies-Ross, President, Cocos Club

Mr Tony Bagnell, Director, On Island Enterprises Pty Ltd

Mr Lloyd Leist

Wednesday, 24 October 2012 - Christmas Island

Arts and Culture Christmas Island

Ms Patricia Power, Chairperson Ms Lisa Preston

Chinese Literary Association of Christmas Island

Ms Jeannie Ku, Treasurer Mr Tan Teik Kiang, Member

Christmas Island Islamic Council

Mr Zainal Abdul Majid, President

Christmas Island Tourism Association Inc.

Ms Lisa Preston, Chairperson Ms Karenn Singer, Secretary

Christmas Island Women's Association

Ms Diane Jarosz, Secretary

Shire of Christmas Island

Councillor Foo Kee Heng, President
Mrs Gan So Hon, Acting Chief Executive Officer
Councillor Kelvin Lee
Mr David Nielsen, Manager, Works & Services
Councillor Gordon Thomson
Councillor Azmi Yon, Deputy President

Soft Star Pty Ltd

Mr Michael Asims, Advisor Mr David Kwon, Managing Director & Owner

Phosphate Resources Ltd

Mr Clive Brown, Chairman Mr Kevin Edwards, Chief Operating Officer Mr Lai Ah Hong, Managing Director

Union of Christmas Island Workers

Mr Foo Kee Heng, President Mr Kelvin Lee, Vice President Mr Gordon Thomson, General Secretary

Wednesday, 28 November 2012 – Canberra

Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport

Mr Stephen Clay, Acting Assistant Secretary, Territory Service Delivery Branch Mr Richard Eccles, Deputy Secretary Mr Julian Yates, First Assistant Secretary, Local Government & Territories