The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia Report on the visit to Norfolk Island 2-5 August 2006 Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories September 2006

Canberra

© Commonwealth of Australia 2006 ISBN 0 642 78840 5 (printed version)

0 642 78841 3 (HTML version)

#### **Foreword**

The Committee undertook its recent visit to Norfolk Island in order to renew its association with the Norfolk Island Government and to engage in discussions with the Norfolk Island community on matters of concern, particularly in light of foreshadowed changes to the Island's governance arrangements.

It was a great pleasure to return to Norfolk Island, and the Committee expressed its gratitude for the warm welcome it received on Island and for the generosity of the Norfolk Island Government in its capacity as host. We believe that our visit did much to reinvigorate what the Committee views as an important relationship.

This Committee has always maintained a close interest in the affairs of Norfolk Island, and takes seriously its brief to oversight the governance and administration of Norfolk Island, for the benefit of the people of Norfolk Island and of the Commonwealth as a whole.

The Committee is conscious of the far reaching potential changes to the governance of Norfolk Island which are now being considered, and the challenges the community will necessarily face as a result. The discussions the Committee held with the Norfolk Island Government and Legislative Assembly, and with the wider community, did much to assure the Committee that the community will make a success of whatever changes are undertaken. We hope that this report, which examines matters raised during our recent visit, will provide some guidance to the Commonwealth Government on the current concerns and future needs of Norfolk Islanders.

Senator Ross Lightfoot Chairman

# Contents

Foi	reword	iii
Acl	knowledgements	vii
	embership of the Committee	
Lis	t of abbreviations	ix
1	Norfolk Island Visit Report	1
	Introduction	1
	Australian Government decision to change Norfolk Island's governance arrangeme	nts2
	Commonwealth Grants Commission review	3
	Australian Bureau of Statistics survey	5
	Relationships	6
	Governance Issues	7
	The need for change	7
	Norfolk Island Government Finances	9
	Taxation	11
	Tourism	12
	Infrastructure	13
	Social Services	14
	Immigration	14
	Committee Conclusions	15

## **Acknowledgements**

A number of people made significant contributions to the success of the Joint Standing Committee's visit to Norfolk Island on 2–5 August.

The Committee wishes to thank the Administrator of Norfolk Island, the Hon Grant Tambling, his Official Secretary, Mr Owen Walsh, and their staff for their assistance in putting together the program and assisting to ensure that everything ran smoothly.

The Committee also wishes to thank the Chief Minister of Norfolk Island, the Hon David Buffett, and members of the Norfolk Island Government and Legislative Assembly for their time and assistance, and their positive and constructive comments during discussions.

The following people gave their time during the Committee's tour of the Island:

- Norfolk Island Hospital: Hon John Brown MLA, Mr David McCowan and Dr Candice Snell
- Waste management facilities: Hon Vicki Jack MLA, Mr Peter Davidson, Mr Fred Howe and Ms Nicole Diatloff
- Kingston Pier: Mr Peter Davidson, Mr Ross Hogan and Mr Simon Batt
- Kingston and Arthur's Vale Historic Area: Mr George Anderson and Ms Liz McCoy.

Finally, the Committee wishes to thank those who by their hospitality or their contribution during discussions with the community made the visit both pleasant and a valuable means of renewing links with the people of Norfolk Island.

## **Membership of the Committee**

Chair Senator Ross Lightfoot

Deputy Chair Senator Kate Lundy (from 29/03/06)

Senator Trish Crossin (to 28/03/06)

Members The Hon. Ian Causley MP Senator Kim Carr (from 08/12/05)

Ms Annette Ellis MP Senator John Hogg

Mrs Sophie Mirabella MP Senator Barnaby Joyce (from 16/08/05)

Mr Paul Neville MP Senator Kate Lundy (from 10/08/05)

Mr Patrick Secker MP Senator Kerry O'Brien (to 10/08/05)

The Hon. Warren Snowdon MP Senator Nigel Scullion (to 16/08/05)

Senator Natasha Stott Despoja

### **Committee Secretariat**

Secretary Mr Stephen Boyd

Inquiry Secretary Dr Bill Pender

Research Officer Mr Justin Baker

Administrative Officer Ms Natasha Petrovic

# List of abbreviations

ABS Australian Bureau of Statistics

CGC Commonwealth Grants Commission

DOTARS Department of Transport and Regional Services

KAVHA Kingston and Arthur's Vale Historic Area

NIG Norfolk Island Government

NSL Norfolk Sustainability Levy