

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON NATIONAL CAPITAL AND EXTERNAL TERRITORIES

Inquiry into the adequacy of funding for Australia's Antarctic Program

Inquiry into the adequacy of funding for Australia's Antarctic Program

Inspections / Public hearing 15 - 16 March 2004

Parliament's External Territories Committee will be travelling to Tasmania to undertake inspections and to collect evidence as part of its inquiry into the adequacy of funding for Australia's Antarctic Program.

On the 15th March, the Committee will undertake an inspection of the Australian Antarctic Division facilities in Kingston, Tasmania. The Australian Antarctic Division is the part of the Department of the Environment and Heritage responsible for administering Australia's wide-ranging activities in Antarctic and sub-Antarctic regions.

Australia's interests in Antarctica are advanced through the Australian Antarctic Division as the primary agency for Australia's Antarctic Program. Some of the Division's responsibilities include:

- administering the Australian Antarctic Territory and the Territory of Heard and McDonald Islands;
- undertaking scientific research and monitoring, and providing the infrastructure in the region to support other Australian agencies;
- promoting Antarctic research in universities through grants and the provision of logistic support;
- developing policy proposals and providing advice on Australia's interests in Antarctica;
 promoting Australia's interests within the Australian Antarctic Treaty System (in conjunction Antarctic Treaty System (in conjuncti)))<
- promoting Australia's interests within the Australian Antarctic Treaty System (in conjunction with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade); and
- maintaining a continuing presence in the region through permanent stations, the establishment of summer field bases and the provision of transport, communications and medical services.

Further information about the Australian Antarctic Division and their role in Australia's Antarctic Program can be found at the Division's website: www.aad.gov.au

On Tuesday 16 March 2004, the Committee will be conducting a public hearing to be held at the Commonwealth Parliamentary Offices in Hobart, commencing at 9:00am.

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM: Tuesday 16 March 2004, Commonwealth Parliamentary Offices, 13 th Floor, 188 Collins Street, Hobart, TAS.		
9:00am	State Government of Tasmania	Submission no. 20
9:40am	University of Tasmania	Submission no. 23
10:20am	Morning Tea	
10:30am	Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre (ACE CRC)	Submission no. 12
11:10am	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)	Submission no. 14
11:50am	National Committee on Antarctic Research (NCAR)	Submission no. 4
12:30pm	Adjournment	

The inquiry has so far received 24 submissions. Submissions are available at the inquiry website at: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ncet/antarctic/subs.htm

For media comment, contact Senator Ross Lightfoot, on tel: (02) 6277 3626. **For further information**, contact the Inquiry Secretary, Mr Quinton Clements in the Committee secretariat, on tel: (02) 6277 2135.

Members of the Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories are:

- Senator Ross Lightfoot (*Chairman*) (Liberal Party of Australia, WA)
- Senator Trish Crossin (Deputy Chair) (Australian Labor Party, NT)
- Senator John Hogg (Australian Labor Party, QLD)
- Senator Kate Lundy (Australian Labor Party, ACT)
- Senator Nigel Scullion (Country Liberal Party, NT)
- Senator Natasha Stott Despoja (Australian Democrats, SA)
- Hon Ian Causley MP (National Party of Australia, Page, NSW)
- Ms Annette Ellis MP (Australian Labor Party, Canberra, ACT)
- Mr Paul Neville MP (National Party of Australia, Hinkler, QLD)
- Hon Warren Snowdon MP (Australian Labor Party, Lingiari, NT)
- Mr Cameron Thompson MP (Liberal Party of Australia, Blair, QLD)
- Dr Mal Washer (Liberal Party of Australia, Moore, WA)