

Appendix B: Public hearings & witnesses

Monday, 11 November 2002 - Canberra

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Abul Rizvi, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Temporary Entry Division

Mr Chris Smith, Assistant Secretary, Migration Branch

Mr Peter Job, Director, Business Employment Section

Ms Julia Niblett, Director, Business Skills Section

Mr John Ryan, Director, Economic and Environment Section

Ms Claire Cooper, Assistant Director, Economic and Environment Section

Ms Lisa Gregg, Assistant Director, Migration Programs Section

Friday, 7 February 2003 - Canberra

ACT Chief Minister's Department

Mr Nic Manikis, Executive Director, Multicultural and Community Affairs Group

Dr Jun Xiao, Business Migration, Office of Multicultural Affairs

Department of Education, Science and Training

Mr Paul Mills, Director, Skills Analysis Section

Ms Ann Baly, Acting Branch Manager, Information and Analysis Branch

Ms Penny Lovibond, Assistant Director, National Office of Overseas Skills Recognition

Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Mr Scott Matheson, Assistant Secretary, Economic and Labour Market Analysis Branch, Employment Analysis and Evaluation Group

Mr Ken Douglas, Group Manager, Employment Analysis and Evaluation Group

Ms Jane Press, Acting Director, Migration, International and Modelling Section, Economic and Labour Market Analysis Branch

Institution of Engineers, Australia

Mr Athol Yates, Senior Policy Analyst
Ms Kate Hurford, Policy Analyst

Wednesday, 19 February 2003 - Sydney

Community Relations Commission for a Multicultural NSW

Mr Stepan Kerkyasharian, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
Mr Richard Acheson, Division Manager, Community Relations Service
Mr Victor Duranti, Senior Community Relations Adviser

Thursday, 20 February 2003 - Adelaide

South Australian Department for Business, Manufacturing and Trade

Mr John Haren, Director, Business and Skilled Migration Ms Katrina Nicholson, Assistant Director, Business and Skilled Migration

Monday, 18 August 2003 - Canberra

British High Commission

His Excellency Sir Alastair Goodlad, High Commissioner

Mr Stanley Blake, Consul

Mrs Nina MacKenzie, Third Secretary

Canadian High Commission

Ms Marlene Massey, Counsellor, Immigration

Ms Johanne Gauthier-Coles, Immigration Program Assistant

Embassy of Japan

Mr Jiro Kodera, Minister and Deputy Chief of Mission

Mr Akihiro Asakawa, Researcher/Advisor

Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany

Dr Wolfgang Klapper, Counsellor, Economic and Legal Sections

Mrs Anja Cyriax, Consular Attaché

Miss Caroline Ade, Legal Intern

Monday, 13 October 2003 - Canberra

Embassy of Ireland

His Excellency Mr Declan Kelly, Ambassador

Mr Ciaran Byrne, First Secretary

Monday, 3 November 2003 - Canberra - Round table discussion

Australian Nursing Council

Ms Marilyn Gendek, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Jan Fletcher, Overseas Assessment Manager

Department of Education, Science and Training

Mrs Penelope Gould, Acting Director, Professional Recognition Unit

Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia

Mr Abd Malak, Chair

Institution of Engineers, Australia

Mr Michael Bevan, Associate Director – Registration

The Rock Resourcing Group

Mr Richard Talbot, Director

SIRVA Relocation

Ms Amanda Tinner, Manager, Visa and Immigration Division

Skilled Migrant Network

Ms Bushra Shoukat, Chairperson

Mr Prasad Polwatte. Committee Member

Mr Edison Yongai, Committee Member

Speech Pathology Association of Australia

Ms Louise Brown, Overseas Qualifications Supervisor

Mrs Victoria Dawson, Senior Advisor - Professional Standards

Friday, 13 February 2004 - Canberra

Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Abul Rizvi, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Temporary Entry Division

Mr Bernie Waters, Assistant Secretary, Business Branch

Mr Noel Barnsley, Acting Assistant Secretary, Migration Branch

Mr Steve Meredith, Director, Migration Program Section, Migration Branch

Mr Michael Christopher, Director, Business Skills Section, Business Branch,

Mr Jeff Grant, Acting Director, Skilled Migration Section, Migration Branch,

Ms Elizabeth Hoffmann, Assistant Director, Business Employment Section, Business Branch