

Appendix B: Hearings

Canberra 8 May 2000

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Andrew Metcalfe Mr John Matthews Mr Des Storer Mr Douglas Walker

Sydney: 24 May 2000

Amnesty International Australia:

National Refugee Team

Mr Graham Thom Mr Alistair Gee

Mr Matthew Hutchings Ms Georgie Mortimer

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference Committee for

Migrants and Refugees

Rev. Father John Murphy

Dr Warwick Neville

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Chris Sidoti

International Commission of

Jurists

Mr David Bitel Hon John Nader QC

National Council of Churches in Australia: National Program on **Refugees and Displaced People**

Sister Loreto Conroy Ms Susan Harris

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Mr Hitoshi Mise Mr Steve Wolfson

Refugee Council of Australia

Mr David Bitel

Melbourne 25 May 2000

Islamic Council of Victoria Mr Bilal Cleland

Law Council of Australia Ms Christine Harvey

Mr Erskine Rodan Ms Debbie Mortimer

Canberra 30 May 2000

Migration Agents RegistrationMr Ray BrownAuthorityMr Andrew Cope

Mr Len Holt

Mr David Mawson

Canberra 20 June 2000

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Andrew Metcalfe Mr John Matthews Mr Douglas Walker