В

Appendix B: List of public hearings and inspections

Tuesday, 22 April 2008 – Sydney

Site inspection of Villawood Immigration Detention Facility and immigration residential housing

Wednesday, 7 May 2008 – Sydney

Individuals

Ms Linda Jaivin

Mr Morteza Poorvadi

A Just Australia

Ms Kate Gauthier, National Coordinator

Amnesty International Australia

Dr Graham Thom

Asylum Seekers Centre

Ms Tamara Domicelj, Director

Australian Red Cross

Mr Noel Clement, General Manager, Domestic Operations

Ms Annie Harvey, Manager, ITRASS

Balmain for Refugees

Mrs Deborah Nicholls

House of Welcome

Father James Carty, Coordinator

Mercy Refugee Service

Sister Lorraine Phelan, On-Shore Programmes Manager, Mercy Works Inc

Monday, 7 July 2008 – Darwin

Visit to Headquarters Northern Command, Larrakeyah Barracks

Site inspection of hotel facilities

Site inspection of the Northern Immigration Detention Centre, Defence Establishment Berrimah

Tuesday, 8 July 2008 – Christmas Island

Site inspection of the Phosphate Hill immigration detention facility and adjacent construction camp

Site inspection of the Christmas Island Immigration Detention and Reception Centre, North-West Point

Wednesday, 3 September 2008 – Canberra

Immigration Detention Advisory Group

Air Marshal Ray Funnell AC (Rtd), Member

Hon John Hodges, Chair

Wednesday, 10 September 2008 - Melbourne

Site inspection of Maribyrnong Immigration Detention Centre Site inspection of Melbourne Immigration Transit Accommodation Visit to the Asylum Seekers Resource Centre, West Melbourne

Thursday, 11 September 2008 – Melbourne

Individuals

Mr Guy Coffey

Australian Red Cross

Mr Noel Clement, General Manager, Domestic Operations

Brotherhood of St Laurence

Ms Serena Lillywhite, Manager, Sustainable Business

Castan Centre for Human Rights Law

Dr Susan Kneebone, Deputy Director

Detention Health Advisory Group

Assoc Professor Harry Minas, Chair

Dr Tim Lightfoot, Member

Dr Gillian Singleton, Member

Hotham Mission Asylum Seeker Project

Ms Caz Coleman, Project Director

Ms Stephanie Mendis, Casework Team Leader

Law Institute of Victoria

Ms Joanne Knight, Chairperson, Refugee Law Reform Committee

Ms Jessie Taylor, Convenor - Immigration Detention Working Group, The Justice Project and Liberty Victoria

Liberty Victoria

Mr Julian Burnside QC, President

Refugee and Immigration Legal Centre Inc

Mr David Manne, Coordinator/Principal Solicitor

The Justice Project Inc

Mr Kurt Esser, Chair

Wednesday, 17 September 2008 – Canberra

Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Prof John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman Mrs Helen Fleming, Senior Assistant Ombudsman Mr George Masri, Senior Assistant Ombudsman Dr Vivienne Thom, Deputy Ombudsman

Wednesday, 24 September 2008 – Canberra

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Dermot Casey, Ag First Assistant Secretary

Mr Bob Correll, Deputy Secretary

Ms Arja Keski-Nummi, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary

Ms Lyn O'Connell, First Assistant Secretary

Wednesday, 8 October 2008 – Perth

Site inspection of Perth Immigration Detention Centre and immigration residential housing Meeting with Ms G, community detention client

Thursday, 9 October 2008 – Perth

Individuals

Mr Stephen Khan

Dr Anne Pedersen

Centre for Human Rights Education, Curtin University of Technology

Professor Linda Briskman

Centrecare Inc

Mr Nigel Calver, Executive Manager

Mr Anthony Pietropiccolo, Director

Project SafeCom Inc

Mr Jack Smit, Executive Director / Project Coordinator

Southern Community Advocacy Legal and Educational Services Community Legal Centre

Ms Anna Copeland, Acting Director (Southern Community Advocacy Legal and Educational Services)

Ms Mary Anne Kenny, Solicitor/ Migration agent

Mrs Vanessa Moss, Solicitor/ Migration agent

The Uniting Church in Australia

Ms Rosemary Hudson Miller, Associate General Secretary, Justice and Mission

Uniting Church in Australia - Western Australia

Mr Mark Cox, Solicitor

Wednesday, 15 October 2008 – Canberra

Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Paul O'Sullivan, Director-General

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Mr Richard Towle, Regional Representative

Friday, 24 October 2008 – Sydney

Individuals

Dr Sev Ozdowski OAM

A Just Australia

Ms Kate Gauthier, National Coordinator

Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

Mr Kon Karapanagiotidis, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Pamela Curr, Campaign Coordinator

Ms Maria Psihogios-Billington, Principal Solicitor

Asylum Seekers Centre

Ms Tamara Domicelj, Director

Australian Human Rights Commission

Mr Graeme Innes, Human Rights Commissioner and Disability Discrimination Commissioner

Ms Catherine Maywald, Policy Officer, Human Rights Unit

Balmain for Refugees

Ms Frances Milne

Mr Shane Prince, Counsel

Get Up!

Mr Edward Coper, Campaigns Director

Ms Anna Saulwick, Rights, Justice and Democracy Campaigner

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Ms Susan Newell, Acting Director, Human Rights Unit

Legal Aid NSW

Ms Elizabeth Biok, Solicitor

Mr Bill Georgiannis, Solicitor

Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors (STARTTS)

Ms Deborah Gould, Clinical Psychologist

Ms Gordana Hol-Radicic, Clinical Psychologist, Acting Clinical Services and Research Coordinator

Participants in roundtable of community detention clients

Ms K Mr U Mrs Z Mr W Ms L Mr K Miss Z

Thursday, 22 January 2009 – Melbourne

Asylum Seeker Resource Centre

Ms Pamela Curr, Campaign Coordinator

Ms Maria Psihogios-Billington, Principal Solicitor

Australian Red Cross

Ms Melissa Bencik, Caseworker

International Coalition on the Detention of Refugees, Asylum Seekers and Migrants

Mr Grant Mitchell, Director

Participants in roundtable of bridging visa clients

Ms G D
Ms W D
Mrs F G
Mr H G
Mr S H
Ms S I
Ms L I
Mr Q L
Mr P Q

Mr G S

Friday, 23 January 2009 – Brisbane

Individuals

Ms Kerrie Woodrow

Bric Housing

Mr Tofiq Al Qady, Tenant/Caretaker

Ms Margaret Gleeson, Housing Worker

Ethnic Communities Council of Queensland

Mr Andrew Bartlett, Policy and Advocacy Advisor

Metropolitan Association Towards Community Housing

Mrs Carolyn Doherty, Chief Executive Officer

Multicultural Development Association

Ms Karen Lee, Executive Manager

Refugee and Immigration Legal Service

Ms Sonia Caton, Director

Refugee Claimants Support Centre

Miss Bess Hopgood, Joint Coordinator

Romero Centre

Mr Abdul Ghaznawi, Client

Mr Hassan Ghulam, Community Wellbeing Worker

Ms Kathi McCulloch, Coordinator

Ms Frederika Steen, Information Officer

Wednesday, 4 February 2009 – Canberra

Refugee Council of Australia

Mr Chris Nash, National Policy Director

Mr Paul Power, Chief Executive Officer

Monday, 23 February 2009 – Canberra

Site inspection of the Alexander McConachie Centre

Wednesday, 25 February 2009 – Canberra

Griffith University

Professor Howard Adelman, Research Professor, Detention Research Group, Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice and Governance.

Wednesday, 18 March 2009 – Canberra

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Bob Correll, Deputy Secretary

Ms Lynne Gillam, Assistant Secretary, Compliance Resolution

Mr Peter Hughes, Deputy Secretary

Ms Arja Keski-Nummi, First Assistant Secretary, Refugee Humanitarian and International Division

Ms Alison Larkins, First Assistant Secretary, Compliance and Case Resolution Division

Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary

Mr Peter Richards. Assistant Secretary, Compliance and Integrity Support Branch

Ms Jackie Wilson, First Assistant Secretary, Community and Detention Services Division