В

Appendix B: List of witnesses

Thursday, 21 August 2008 - Melbourne

Individuals

Mr Peter Bartlett

Professor Ronald Francis

Australian Institute of Professional Investigators

Mr Dean Newlan, President

Australian Services Union Taxation Officers Branch

Mr Jeff Lapidos, Secretary, Taxation Officers' Branch

Mr Richard McPhee, Industrial Officer

CSIRO Staff Association

Dr Michael Borgas, President

Mr Sam Popovski, Research Officer

Post Office Agents Association Limited

Mr Ian Kerr, Chief Executive Officer

Transparency International Australia

Mr Grahame Leonard AM, Director

Uniting Church in Australia - Synod of Victoria and Tasmania

Mr Anthony McMullen, Social Justice Officer

Dr Mark Zirnsak, Director, Justice and International Mission Unit

Thursday, 28 August 2008 - Canberra

Community and Public Sector Union

Ms Melissa Donnelly, Senior Legal Officer Mr Stephen Jones, National Secretary Ms Alison Rahill, Parliamentary Liaison Officer

Thursday, 4 September 2008 - Canberra

Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Ron Brent, Deputy Ombudsman Professor John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Tuesday, 9 September 2008 - Canberra

Individuals

Professor Paul Latimer

Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Mr Paul Chadwick, Director Editorial Policies

Charles Stuart University

Mr Peter Roberts, Senior Lecturer

Community and Public Sector Union

Mr Stephen Jones, National Secretary

Crime and Misconduct Commission, Queensland

Mr Robert Needham, Chairperson

Fairfax Media Limited

Ms Gail Hambly, Group General Counsel & Company Secretary

New South Wales Ombudsman's Office

Mr Christopher Wheeler, Deputy Ombudsman

News Limited

Ms Creina Chapman, Manager, Corporate Affairs

Office of Public Sector Standards Commissioner, Western Australia

Ms Penny Bird, Executive Director, Public Sector Practice

Office of the Commonwealth Ombudsman

Professor John McMillan, Commonwealth Ombudsman

Whistleblowers Australia

Mr Peter Bennett, National President

Whistle While They Work Team

Dr AJ Brown, Project Leader

Professor Richard Wortley, Member

Thursday, 18 September 2008 - Canberra

Australian National University

Dr Thomas Faunce, Associate Professor, College of Medicine and Health Sciences and College of Law

Thursday, 25 September 2008 - Canberra

Australian Public Service Commission

Ms Lynelle Briggs, Australian Public Service Commissioner

Ms Annwyn Godwin, Merit Protection Commissioner

Ms Lynne Tacy, Deputy Public Service Commissioner

Thursday, 16 October 2008 - Canberra

Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Miss Jessica Casben, Co-convenor, ACT Branch, National Committee Member

Ms Rebecca Minty, Co-convenor, ACT Branch, National Committee Member

Dr Susan Harris Rimmer, President

Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security

Mr Ian Carnell, Inspector-General

Office of National Assessments

Mr Peter Varghese, Director General

Thursday, 23 October 2008 - Canberra

Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity

Mr Peter Bache, Executive Director

Mr Philip Moss, Integrity Commissioner

Mr Nicholas Sellars, Manager, Policy and Research

Australian Federal Police

Mr Tony Negus, Deputy Commissioner, Operations Commander Mark Walters, Manager, Professional Standards Mr Peter Whowell, Manager, AFP Legislation Program

Monday, 27 October 2008 - Sydney

Individuals

Dr Peter Bowden Ms Cynthia Kardell Dr Jean Lennane Dr Kim Sawyer

Australian Centre for Independent Journalism - University of Technology, Sydney

Mr Anthony Maniaty, Director

Australian Press Council

Mr Jack Herman, Executive Secretary

Professor Kenneth McKinnon, Chairman

Independent Commission Against Corruption, New South Wales

Ms Theresa Hamilton, Deputy Commissioner

Journalism & Media Research Centre - University of New South Wales

Associate Professor David McKnight, Senior Research Fellow

Media, Entertainment and the Arts Alliance

Mr Jonathan Este, Director, Communications

Mr Christopher Warren, Federal Secretary

New South Wales Council for Civil Liberties

Dr Martin Bibby, Convenor, Civil and Indigenous Rights Subcommittee

Dr Lesley Lynch, Assistant Secretary

News Limited

Ms Creina Chapman, Manager, Corporate Affairs

Police Integrity Commission, New South Wales

Mr Allan Kearney, Director, Prevention & Information

Mr John Pritchard, Commissioner

Standards Australia

Mr William Dee, Committee Member

Mr James Thomson, Relationship Manager

Whistleblowers Australia

Mr Peter Bennett, National President

Tuesday, 28 October 2008 - Brisbane

Individuals

Dr Kathy Ahern

Australian Nursing Federation

Mr Steven Ross, Industrial Officer, Queensland Nurses Union

Institute for Ethics, Governance and Law

Professor Charles Sampford, Director

Queensland Council of Unions

Ms Deborah Ralston, Industrial Officer

Whistle While They Work Team

Dr Geoffrey Airo-Farulla, Member

Dr AJ Brown, Project Leader

Professor Richard Johnstone, Member

Mr Peter Roberts, Member

Professor Richard Wortley, Member

Thursday, 27 November 2008 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoff McDonald, First Assistant Secretary, Security and Critical Infrastructure Division,

Mr Roger Wilkins AO, Secretary

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Andrew Metcalfe, Secretary

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ms Barbara Belcher, First Assistant Secretary, Government Division

Mr Mike Mrdak, Deputy Secretary