

Appendix C - List of witnesses

Wednesday, 24 May 2000 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Peter Ford, First Assistant Secretary, Information and Security Law Division

Gabrielle Mackey, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Information Law Branch - Information and Security Law Division

Australian Electoral Commission

Andy Becker, Commissioner

Mark Cunliffe, First Assistant Commissioner

Paul Dacey, Assistant Commissioner

Australian Medical Association Limited

Dr Robert Bain, Secretary General

Dr Sandra Hacker, Vice President

Charlotta Blomberg, Legal Counsel

Community and Health Services Complaints Commissioner ACT

Ken Patterson, Commissioner

Malcolm Crompton, Federal Privacy Commissioner

Timothy Pilgrim, Deputy Privacy Commissioner

Christine Cowper, Director, Policy Section

Friday, 2 June 2000 - Sydney

Australian Consumers' Association

Charles Britton, Senior Policy Officer, Information Technology and Communications

Nicola Ballenden, Health Policy Officer

Australian Direct Marketing Association

Robert Edwards, Chief Executive Officer

Scott McClellan, Director, Communications and Regulatory Affairs

Australian Privacy Charter Council

Chris Connolly, Executive Member

Australian Privacy Foundation

Tim Dixon, Chairman

Insurance Council of Australia

Alan Mason. Chief Executive

Richard Viney, Chairman, Privacy Principles Committee

Robert Drummond, Executive Manager

Privacy New South Wales

Dr John Gaudin, Acting Legal and Policy Officer

Readers Digest

Christopher Smith, General Manager, Postal, Consumer and Government Affairs

Thursday, 8 June 2000 - Canberra

Australian Press Council

Professor Dennis Pearce, Chairman

Warren Beeby, Industry Representative

Australian Taxation Office

Steve Chapman, Deputy Commissioner, Small Business

Iain Anderson, Solicitor

Department of Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business

Robin Stewart-Crompton, Deputy Secretary

Stephen Moore, Assistant Secretary, Business Entry Point Management Branch

Patricia Faget, Director, Privacy, Freedom of Information and Ombudsman Team

Friday, 9 June 2000 - Melbourne

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Linda Rubinstein, Senior Industrial Officer

Susan Pennicuik, Occupational Health and Safety Co-ordinator

Breast Cancer Action Group

Sue Lockwood, Chair

Rosetta Manaszewicz, Member, Breast Cancer Network Australia

Department of State and Regional Development

Michael Hudson, Acting Manager, Legal Policy - Multimedia Victoria

Randall Straw, Director, Government Online and Community Development - Multimedia Victoria

Electronic Frontiers Australia Inc

Irene Graham, Executive Director

Janet Whitaker, Board Member

Fund Raising Institute of Australia

Peter Hudson, Executive Member

David Zerman, President, National Secretariat

Anne Gribbin, National Secretary

Health Issues Centre

Jane Meredith Carter, Executive Director