HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS

Northern Territory Statehood Seminar 14-16 November 2006 PROGRAM

Please note: The program may be subject to change.

Venues:

Alice Springs - 14 November 2006

Ellery Room Phone: 08 8950 0200
Alice Springs Convention Centre Fax: 08 8950 0300
93 Barrett Drive Email: info@aspcc.com.au
Alice Springs Web: http://www.ascc.com.au

<u>Darwin - 15-16 November 2</u>006

Strangers Lounge

Legislative Assembly Phone: 08 8946 1433 of the Northern Territory Fax: 08 8981 3284

Cnr Mitchell and Herbert Streets Web: http://www.nt.gov.au/lant/

Darwin

Darwin format:

Each 90 minute session in Darwin to consist of:

Principal speakers 10 minutes per speaker

Questions from Committee members to the 20-30 minutes

principal speakers

Comments from additional invited guests and 20-30 minutes

public

Plus additional open discussion session at 30-45 minutes

conclusion of each day

 Further information on the Committee's inquiry, including the terms of reference, can be found at

http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/laca/ntstatehood/index.htm

- All sessions of the seminar are open for the public to attend.
- Lunch will be provided for principal speakers and invited group discussion participants only.

Tuesday 14 November 2006 - Alice Springs

10:25am Welcome	Hon Peter Slipper MP
10:30am	Future status of Commonwealth land in the Northern Territory and Aboriginal land rights
(10:30am – 11:10am)	 Hon Warren Snowdon MP Mr Bernie Kilgariff (former NT Senator) Mr John Liddle (Male Health Coordinator, Central Australian Aboriginal Congress) with Dr Martin Mowbray (Congress Research and Policy Officer)
(11:10am – 11:30am)	(Questions from the Committee)
(11:30am – 12:00pm)	 Group discussion Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee (SSC) Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee (LACAC)

12:00pm Lunch

1:00pm	Session resumption
(1:00pm – 1:40pm)	 Mrs Pat Miller AO (Deputy of the Administrator) [TBC] Ms Shirley McPherson (Chairperson, Indigenous Land Corporation) with Mr Paul Hayes (ILC Principal Legal Officer) Ms Jayne Weepers (Policy Officer, Central Land Council)
(1:40 – 2:00pm)	(Questions from the Committee)
(2:00pm – 2:25pm)	 Group discussion Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee
2:25pm Open Public	Discussion

2:45pm Conclusion of Alice Springs session

Wednesday 15 November 2006 - Darwin

8:30am Registration

9:00am Session One	Seminar Opening and Welcome
Principal Speakers	 Hon Peter Slipper MP - Welcome
	 Hon Syd Stirling MLA (Minister for Statehood)

9:30am Session Two	Recent NT Developments on statehood and proposals to advance statehood
Principal Speakers	 Hon Barbara McCarthy MLA (Co-Chair NT SSC) Mrs Sue Bradley (Co-Chair NT SSC) Hon Stephen Hatton (Former Chief Minister, NT) Mr Jamey Robertson (Secretary, Unions NT) Senator Trish Crossin
Other session participants	 Representative of Humanities & Social Science, Charles Darwin University Representative of the Northern Territory Local Government Association Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee

11:15am Morning Break

11:30am Session	Commonwealth constitutional matters and achieving
Three	statehood
Principal Speakers	 Hon Dean Mildren (Justice of the NT Supreme Court)
	 Ms Allison Robertson (President, NT Law Society)
	 Mr Graham Nicholson (Legal adviser to Statehood
	Steering Committee)
	Mr Tom Pauling QC (NT Solicitor-General)
Other session participants	 Representative of the Constitutional Policy Unit, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department Representative of the NT Department of Justice Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee

1:00pm Lunch

2:15pm Session Four	Representation of the new state in the Federal Parliament and future status of Commonwealth legislation currently applying to the Northern Territory
Principal Speakers	 Mr David Tollner MP (Member for Solomon) Hon Austin Asche AC QC (Chair, NT Law Reform Committee
Other session participants	 Representative of the Australian Electoral Commission Representative of the NT Electoral Commission Representative of the NT Department of Justice Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee

3:30pm Afternoon break

4:00pm Session Five Open Public Discussion

4: 45pm Conclusion of Day One of Darwin sessions

Thursday 16 November 2006 - Darwin

9:00am Session One	Future control of industrial relations and financial relations between a new state and the Commonwealth
Principal Speakers	Financial Relations:
	 Mr Alan Morris (Chairperson, Commonwealth Grants Commission)
	 Ms Jennifer Prince (Under Treasurer, NT Department of Treasury)
	Industrial Relations:
	 Mr Justin Larkin (Employment Advocate of the Office of Commissioner for Public Employment)
	 Mr Chris Young (CEO, Chamber of Commerce Northern Territory)
	 Mr Joe Gallagher (President, Unions NT)
Other session participants	 Representative of the Commonwealth Department of Employment and Workplace Relations
,	 Representative of the NT Trades and Labour Council [TBC]
	 Representative of NT Department of Business, Economic and Regional Development [TBC]
	 Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee
	 Members of the Northern Territory Legal and
	Constitutional Affairs Committee

10:45am Morning break

11:00am Session	Future Status of Commonwealth Land in the Northern
Two	Territory and Aboriginal land rights
Principal Speakers	 Mr Kelvin Costello (Coordinator, Larrakia Nation Aboriginal Corporation) Mr John Daly (Chairman, Northern Land Council) Mr Dennis Bree (Deputy Chief Executive NT Office of Indigenous Policy) Mr Joe Procter (Member of the National Indigenous Council)
Other session participants	 Representative of the National Native Title Tribunal Representative of the NT Local Government Association Representative of the NT Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Mines Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee

12:30pm Lunch

1:30pm Session Three	Mineral and uranium resource issues, and future ownership and management of Commonwealth National Parks and Marine Protected Areas
Principal Speakers	 Ms Kezia Purick (Chief Executive, NT Minerals Council) Professor Robert Wasson (Natural Resource Management, CDU) Mr Graeme Neate (President, National Native Title Tribunal)
Other session participants	 Representative of the Northern Land Council Representatives of the NT Department of Natural Resources, Environment and the Arts Representatives of the NT Department of Primary Industry, Fisheries and Mines Representative of the Environment Centre of the NT Members of the Northern Territory Statehood Steering Committee Members of the Northern Territory Legal and Constitutional Affairs Committee

3:00pm Afternoon Break

3:30pm Session Four	Open Public Discussion	
1.15mm Concluding	Hon Doton Climan MD	
4:15pm Concluding Remarks	Hon Peter Slipper MP	

4:30pm Seminar Close