

## **Appendix C - List of Witnesses**

Wednesday, 1 March 2000, Melbourne

Individuals

Dr Eloise Piercy

**Professor Roger Short** 

Associate Professor Loane Skene

Dr Nicholas Tonti-Filippini

Dr Peter McCullagh

Anglican Diocese of Melbourne

Reverend Dr Christopher Pullin, Social Responsibilities Committee

Association of Catholic Families

Mr Christopher Meney, Co-President

Australian Health Ethics Committee

Professor Don Chalmers, Chairman

Australian Medical Association Limited

Dr Sandra Hacker, Vice President

Caroline Chisholm Centre for Health Ethics Inc.

Reverend Dr Norman Ford, Director

Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne

Very Reverend Dr Anthony Fisher OP, Episcopal Vicar For Health Care

258 HUMAN CLONING

Council for Marriage and the Family

Ms Jennifer Weber, Secretary

Howard Florey Institute, University of Melbourne

Professor Felix Beck, Consultant

Human Genetics Society of Australia

Dr John Rogers, Chairman, Ethics and Social Issues Committee

Humanist Society of Victoria Inc

Dr Alan McPhate, President

Ms Halina Strnad, Convenor, Submissions Group

Monash Institute of Reproduction and Development

Professor Marilyn Monk, Senior Scientist

Associate Professor Martin Pera, Senior Research Fellow

Professor Alan Trounson, Deputy Director

Monash Medical Centre

Dr Geoffrey Matthews, Chairman, Human Research and Ethics Committee

Ovulation Method Research and Reference Centre of Australia

Dr Mary Walsh, President

Plunkett Centre for Ethics in Health Care

Dr Bernadette Tobin, Director

Right to Life Australia

Ms Margaret Tighe, Chairwoman

Southern Cross Bioethics Institute

Dr Gregory Pike, Principal Research Officer

The Australian Family Association

Mr Bill Muehlenberg, Festival of Light; and National Secretary, Australian Family Association

The Murdoch Institute

Professor Robert (Bob) Williamson, Director

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

Dr John R Palmer, Bioethical Coordinator

Youth Concerned with Cloning

Ms Helen Ransom, Information Officer

Mr Sarjit Sidhu, President

Wednesday, 29 March 2000 - Canberra

Individuals

Mr Peter Eddington

Attorney-General's Department

Mr John Atwood, Acting Assistant Secretary, Public Law Branch

Ms Jane Hearne, Senior Legal Officer

Australian Federation of Right to Life Associations and The Right to Life Association (NSW)

Mrs Kathleen Woolf, Vice President

Australian Academy of Science

Dr Oliver Mayo, Board Member

Professor Sue Serjeantson, Consultant

Australian Catholic Bishops Conference

**Archbishop Barry Hickey** 

Dr Warwick Neville, General Secretariat

Australian Family Association

Mr Damien Tudehope

Australian National University

Professor Phillip Pettit, Research School of Social Sciences

Catholic Women's League Australia Inc

Mrs Mary Uhlmann, President, Canberra/Goulburn

Central Sydney Area Health Service (RPAH Zone)

Dr Robert Loblay, Chairman, Ethics Review Committee

Country Women's Association of NSW

Mrs Jill Macaulay

Mrs Barbara Vance, Chair, Study and Investigation Committee

260 HUMAN CLONING

Department of Biochemistry, University of Adelaide

Professor Peter Rathjen

**Executive Council of Australian Jewry** 

Mr Earle Hoffman, Canberra Representative

Griffith University

Ms Christine Morris, Research Fellow, Australian Key Centre for Cultural and Media Policy

National Caucus of Disability Consumer Organisations

Mr Paul Cain

Queensland Bioethics Centre

Mr Raymond Campbell, Director

South Australian Council on Reproductive Technology

Professor Robert Norman, Council Member

**SWANTON Consulting** 

**Dr David Swanton** 

University of Melbourne

Professor Julian Savulescu, Director, Ethics Program, Murdoch Institute

Thursday, 5 April 2001, Canberra

BresaGen Ltd and BresaGen Inc

Dr John Smeaton, Chief Executive Officer

Friday, 11 May 2001, Melbourne

ES Cell International Pte Ltd

Ms Catriona King, Operations Manager

Mr Robert Klupacs, General Manager

Thursday, 7 June 2001, Canberra

National Health and Medical Research Council

Professor Alan Pettigrew, Chief Executive Officer

Dr Clive Morris, Acting Assistant Secretary, Centre for Health Advice, Policy and Ethics

Professor Nicholas Saunders, Chairman

Associate Professor Colin Thomson, Deputy Chair, Australian Health Ethics Committee

Dr Bernadette Tobin, Member, Australian Health Ethics Committee

262 HUMAN CLONING