

Chair: Mr Kelvin Thomson MP

Treaties Committee to review the Treaties Ratification Bill 2012

The Treaties Ratification Bill 2012, which proposes that both Houses of the Parliament must approve a treaty's ratification by resolution, will be reviewed by Federal Parliament's Treaties Committee at a public hearing in Canberra on Monday 25 June 2012.

The *Treaties Ratification Bill 2012* was introduced into the Parliament by Mr Bob Katter MP as a private member's bill on 16 February 2012.

Committee chair, Mr Kelvin Thomson MP, said the process through which the Treaties Committee was formed has evolved over a number of years in response to calls for greater democratic accountability of the treaty making process.

"The Committee has called for submissions and is holding a public hearing so that interested parties have an opportunity to comment on the bill in particular and can also provide feedback to the Parliament on the treaty making process more broadly. We feel it important that the Australian public are confident that the treaties making process is open and democratically accountable."

Public Hearing: Monday 25 June 2012, Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House Canberra
— All welcome

10:30am Professor George Williams AO, Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales

(via teleconference)

11:00am Dr Anne Twomey, Professor of Constitutional Law, Faculty of Law, University of

Sydney (via teleconference)

The hearing will be broadcast through: http://www.aph.gov.au/News_and_Events/Watch_Parliament

Copies of the Bill and submissions received by the committee can be found at: http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/House_of_Representatives_Committees?url=isct/ratification_bill/index.htm

Alternatively, interested parties may email isct@aph.gov.au or phone (02) 6277 4002.

MEDIA CONTACTS

Media contact: Mr Kelvin Thomson MP (Mr Anthony Cianflone) (03) 9350 5777
Background: Committee Secretariat (02) 6277 4002

Telephone: 02 6277 4002
Facsimile: 02 6277 2219
E-mail: jsct@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/jsct