

Appendix C - Witnesses

Monday, 18 June 2007 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoffrey Skillen, Principal Legal Officer

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

Miss Kimberley Shrives, Senior Adviser International

Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts

Mr Edward Harvey, Assistant Director, ITU and Treaties Section, International Branch

Mr Colin Oliver, General Manager, International Branch

Department of Defence

Lieutenant Colonel David Bishop, Acting Director, Operations and International Law

Department of Education, Science and Training

Mr David Smith, Director, Asia Pacific & Africa Section, International Science Branch

Department of Family and Community Services & Indigenous Affairs

Ms Michalina Stawyskyj, Branch Manager, International Branch

Department of Family and Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Peter Hutchinson, Section Manager, International Agreements Section, International Branch

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Brendan Augustin, Director, Western Europe Section, EU and Western Europe Branch

Mr Michael Bliss, Director, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Mr Bruce Lendon, Director, Africa Section

Mr David Mason, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Mr Adrian Morrison, Director, Korea Section, North East Asia Branch

Ms Juliana Nam, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, International Legal Branch

Department of the Treasury

Mr Leon Latimore, Analyst, Superannuation, Retirement and Savings Division

Mr Nigel Murray, Manager, Superannuation, Retirement and Savings Division

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Mr John Anning, Policy, Imports and Recalls, Vehicle Safety Standards Branch

Mr Allan Jonas, Manager, Standards and International Section, Vehicle Safety Standards Branch

Mr Stephen Spencer, Manager, Policy, Imports and Recalls, Vehicle Safety Standards Branch

IP Australia

Ms Helen Dawson, Assistant Director

Friday, 22 June 2007 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Ms Robyn Frost, Principal Legal Officer, Office of International Law

Australian Customs Service

Mr Matthew Bannon, Director, Valuation and Origin

Australian Red Cross

Mr Dale Cleaver, Director of Operations

Ms Pia Riley, Acting Manager, International Humanitarian Law

Department of Defence

Ms Rachel Noble, Assistant Secretary, Americas, North & South Asia & Europe, International Policy Division

Mr Glenn Wahlert, Director General, Industry Strategy Branch, Defence Material Organisation

Ms Elizabeth Wilson, Senior Legal Officer, Directorate of International Agreements and Arrangements, Defence Legal

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Michael Bliss, Director, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Ms Pauline Bygraves, Executive Officer, WTO Regional and Free Trade Agreements Section

Mr Chris Cannan, Assistant Secretary, Northern, Southern and Eastern Europe Branch

Mr David Livingstone, Director, International Intellectual Property Section

Ms Jane Madden, Assistant Secretary, Services and Intellectual Property Branch

Mr David Mason, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Ms Juliana Nam, Executive Officer, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, International Legal Branch

Mr Peter Rayner, Director, Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore Section

Ms Jessica Wyers, Executive Officer, International Intellectual Property Section

Department of Health and Ageing

Ms Jenny Hefford, Assistant Secretary, Regulatory Policy Branch

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources

Ms Ruth Gallagher, Manager, Tariff and Trade Policy

IP Australia

Ms Caroline McCarthy, Director, International Policy Section Mr Leo O'Keeffe, Director, Domestic Policy Section

The Australian National University College of Law

Dr Matthew Rimmer, Senior Lecturer