

Appendix C - Witnesses

Monday, 26 February 2007 - Canberra

Individuals

Dr Clinton Fernandes, Senior Lecturer, Strategic Studies, School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Suciwati

Attorney-General's Department

Mr William McFadyen Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Australian Federal Police

Federal Agent Tim Morris, National Manager, Border and International Network

Civil Liberties Australia (ACT) Inc

Dr Kristine Klugman, President

Mr William Rowlings, CEO

Dr June Verrier, Director

Department of Defence

Mr Michael Pezzullo, Deputy Secretary Strategy

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Gillian Bird, Deputy Secretary

Mr Michael Bliss, Director, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Ms Michelle Chan, Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia (South) and Regional Issues Branch

Mr David Mason, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

Indonesian Solidarity

Mrs Nonie Hodgson, Human Rights Worker

Mr Eko Waluyo, Coordinator

The Commission for Disappeard and Victims of Violence (KontraS)

Mr Usman Hamid, Coordinator

Monday, 26 March 2007 - Canberra

Individuals

Professor Geoffrey Peter King

Professor Hugh White, Professor of Strategic Studies and Visiting Fellow, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Geoffrey Skillen, Principal Legal Officer

Australian Council for International Development

Mr Paul O'Callaghan, Executive Director

Ms Carly Sheehan, Humanitarian and Emergencies Coordinator

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr David Mason, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

ELSHAM (Institute for Human Rights Study and Advocacy)

Ms Paula Makabory, International Human Rights Campaign Coordinator

Human Rights Law Resource Centre Ltd

Mr Mathew Tinkler, Secondee Solicitor

Monday, 30 April 2007 - Sydney

Australia West Papua Association (Sydney)

Mr Joe Collins, Secretary

Dr Anne Noonan, Member

Australian Coalition for Transitional Justice in East Timor

Mr Mark Byrne PhD

Australian Conservation Foundation

Mr Dave Sweeney, Nuclear campaigner

Australian Federal Police

Federal Agent Tim Morris, National Manager, Border and International Network

Department of Defence

Mr Benedict Coleman, Assistant Secretary, ASIA IP Division

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Gillian Bird, Deputy Secretary

Mr Michael Bliss, Director, International Law and Transnational Crime Section, Legal Branch

Ms Michelle Chan, Assistant Secretary, South-East Asia (South) and Regional Issues Branch

Mr David Mason, Executive Director, Treaties Secretariat, Legal Branch

International Commission of Jurists Australia

The Hon John Dowd AO QC, President

Lowy Institute for International Policy

Dr Malcolm Cook, Program Director, Asia and the Pacific

NSW Council for Civil Liberties

Mr Cameron Murphy, President

Mr Thomas Spohr, Committee Member

Mr Michael Walton, Committee Member

Sydney University

Mr Jim Elmslie, Co-convenor, West Papua Project, Research Fellow, Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

Professor Geoffrey Peter King, Co-convenor, West Papua Project, Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies

The University of Sydney

Dr Ben Saul, Faculty of Law