

TERRY MILLS MLA | CHIEF MINISTER OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY
PETER CHANDLER MLA | MINISTER FOR LANDS, PLANNING AND THE ENVIRONMENT

MEDIA RELEASE

## PLANNING COMMISSION GEARS UP FOR WORK AS NEW MEMBERS APPOINTED

30<sup>th</sup> January, 2013

Chief Minister, Terry Mills, and Minister for Lands, Planning and the Environment, Peter Chandler, today announced the appointment of five experts to the new Planning Commission.

"I am excited that the Territory now has an independent group with wide-ranging skills and extensive experience who will put in place much needed plans for the Territory's growth.

"We are putting an end to the free-for-all development that we have seen in the past and the community will be involved from the start.

"The commission will plan for home building, transport links, commercial and industrial development, and essential facilities such as waste disposal.

"Establishing a planning body that will consult widely with the community was a commitment the Country Liberals made before coming into Government," Mr Mills said.

Mr Chandler said a key role for the commission will be cutting red tape, speeding up procedures, identifying land and getting it developed as homes for essential workers.

"By planning for growth we will ensure that young Territorians are not pushed out by high prices and high rents.

"The commission's work plan includes infill building and residential development opportunities around Fannie Bay, Ludmilla and Nightcliff."

The five members of the commission named today have been appointed for two years. They are:

**Graham Bailey**, a strategic planner, who has the ability to recognise and respond to long-term opportunities and challenges. He is a Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia.

**David McHugh**, an engineer, who was previously chief executive of the Department of Transport and Works, and has advised at national level on transport issues relating to the Territory.

**Nicole Wheeler**, an interior design specialist, has worked on residential and commercial projects and has a strong understanding of the use of space in a tropical environment.



TERRY MILLS MLA | CHIEF MINISTER OF THE NORTHERN TERRITORY
PETER CHANDLER MLA | MINISTER FOR LANDS, PLANNING AND THE ENVIRONMENT

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

**Dr Ken Johnson** developed the Desert Knowledge Precinct and the Desert Wildlife Park in Alice Springs, and brings extensive regional knowledge to the commission.

**Denys Stedman**, a chartered accountant, has strong community links and a wide understanding of the building, construction, pastoral, property and professional service industries.

The new appointees will join Development Consent Authority chairman, Peter McQueen, the Heritage Council chairman, Dr Brian Reed, the new NT Environment Protection Authority chairman, Dr Bill Freeland, Local Government Association representative Stuart Duncan, and commission chairman Gary Nairn for the first meeting on Friday.

Media Contact: Judith Hughey