

# **Appendix B - Hearings and witnesses**

Wednesday 16 January 2013 - Sydney

**Public hearing** 

#### **Individuals**

Prof Anne Twomey

Prof George Williams

Prof Alexander Jonathan Brown

## Attorney-General's Department

Mr James Faulkner, General Counsel (Constitutional), Office of Constitutional Law

Mr Jeff Murphy, Principal Legal Officer, Office of Constitutional Law

#### **Australian Electoral Commission**

Ms Marie Neilson, Assistant Commissioner Elections

Ms Gabrielle Paten, Director Electoral Policy and Reform

Mr Tom Rogers, Deputy Commissioner

## **Australian Local Government Association**

Mr Adrian Beresford-Wylie, Chief Executive

Mayor Troy Pickard, Vice President

Mr John Pritchard, Executive Director, Policy and Research

Cr Keith Rhoades, Vice President

## Department of Premier and Cabinet, South Australian Government

Mr Mick Petrovski, Director, Office for State/Local Government Relations

# Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport

Mrs Robyn Fleming, First Assistant Secretary, Local Government, Territories and Regional Programs Dr Matasha McConchie, Assistant Secretary, Local Government and Territories

## Law Council of Australia

Ms Maureen Peatman, Chair of Legal Practice Section

## Local Government Association of Queensland

Cr Margaret De Wit, President

Mr Craig Johnstone, Media Executive

#### Local Government Association of South Australia

Mr Chris Russell, Acting Chief Executive Officer,

The Hon John Trainer, Vice-President

## Victorian Local Governance Association

Mr Toby Archer, Director, Policy

Ms Maree McPherson, Chief Executive Officer