AUSTRALIA'S CLEAN ENERGY FUTURE LEGISLATION—JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE

Mr Albanese (Leader of the House), pursuant to notice, moved-

- (1) That a Joint Select Committee on Australia's Clean Energy Future Legislation be appointed to inquire into and report on the provisions of the following bills:
- (a) Clean Energy 2011;
- (b) Clean Energy (Consequential Amendments) 2011;
- (c) Clean Energy (Income Tax Rates Amendments) 2011;
- (d) Clean Energy (Household Assistance Amendments) 2011;
- (e) Clean Energy (Tax Laws Amendments) 2011;
- (f) Clean Energy (Fuel Tax Legislation Amendment) 2011;
- (g) Clean Energy (Customs Tariff Amendment) 2011;
- (h) Clean Energy (Excise Tariff Legislation Amendment) 2011;
- (i) Ozone Protection and Synthetic Greenhouse Gas (Import Levy) Amendment 2011;
- (j) Ozone Protection and Synthetic Greenhouse Gas (Manufacture Levy) Amendment 2011;
- (k) Clean Energy (Unit Shortfall Charge—General) 2011;
- (l) Clean Energy (Unit Issue Charge—Auctions) 2011;
- (m) Clean Energy (Unit Issue Charge—Fixed Charge) 2011;
- (n) Clean Energy (International Unit Surrender Charge) 2011;
- (o) Clean Energy (Charges—Customs) 2011;
- (p) Clean Energy (Charges—Excise) 2011;
- (q) Clean Energy Regulator 2011;
- (r) Climate Change Authority 2011; and
- (s) Steel Transformation Plan 2011.
- (2) That the committee consist of 14 members, four members of the House of Representatives to be nominated by the Government Whip or Whips, three members of the House of Representatives to be nominated by the Opposition Whip or Whips, one Greens member, one non-aligned member, two senators to be nominated by the Leader of the Government in the Senate, two senators to be nominated by the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, and one Greens senator.
- (3) That every nomination of a member of the committee be notified in writing to the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (4) That the persons appointed for the time being to serve on the committee shall constitute the committee notwithstanding any failure by the Senate or the House of Representatives to appoint the full number of senators or members referred to in this resolution.
- (5) That the committee elect a Government member as its chair.
- (6) That the committee elect a member as its deputy chair who shall act as chair of the committee at any time when the chair is not present at a meeting of the committee, and at any time when the chair and deputy chair are not present at a meeting of the committee the members shall elect another member to act as chair at that meeting.
- (7) That, in the event of an equally divided vote, the chair, or the deputy chair when acting as chair, have a casting vote.
- (8) That four members of the committee constitute a quorum of the committee provided that in a deliberative meeting the quorum shall include at least one Government member of either House and one non-Government member of either house.
- (9) That the committee have power to call for witnesses to attend and for documents to be produced.

- (10) That the committee may conduct proceedings at any place it sees fit.
- (11) That the committee have the power to adjourn from time to time and to sit during any adjournment of the Senate and the House of Representatives.
- (12) That the committee report on or before 7 October 2011.
- (13) That the provisions of this resolution, so far as they are inconsistent with the standing orders, have effect notwithstanding anything contained in the standing orders.
- (14) That a message be sent to the Senate acquainting it of this resolution and requesting that it concur with the action accordingly.