

Appendix B – List of Hearings & Witnesses

Monday 9 December 2002 - Canberra

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Robert CORNALL, Secretary

Mr Edwin TYRIE, Director, Protective Security Coordination Centre

Department of Defence

Major General Kenneth James GILLESPIE, Head of Strategic Operations Defence Headquarters Division

Australian Federal Police

Mr Ben McDEVITT, General Manager National

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Mr Andrew METCALFE, Deputy Secretary

Emergency Management Australia

Mr David Charles TEMPLEMAN, Director General

Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Mr Hugh WHITE, Director

Strategic and Defence Studies Centre – Australian National University

Mr Clive WILLIAMS, Director of Terrorism Studies

Wednesday 2 April 2003 - Perth

Royal Perth Hospital

Dr William BERESFORD, Director of Clinical Services

Western Australia Police Service

Mr Bruce BRENNAN, Deputy Commissioner

Mr John McROBERTS, Officer in Charge, State Security Unit

Fire and Emergency Services Authority

Mr Kevin William CUNEO, Fire Services Director, Capability Development

Mr Robert James MITCHELL, Chief Executive Officer

Department of Health

Dr Virginia A McLAUGHLIN., State Health Coordinator

Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Mr Rodney Charles SPENCER, Manager, Executive Government and Security Services, Department of the Premier and Cabinet, Western Australian Government; and Member, National Counter-Terrorism Committee

Thursday 17 July 2003 - Darwin

Nothern Territory Governemnt

Mr Mike BURGESS, Deputy Chief Executive, Department of the Chief Minister

Mr Christopher Guy WRANGLE, Director, Services, Department of the Chief Minister

Royal Darwin Hospital - Department of Health and Community Services

Dr Len NOTARAS, Principal Medical Consultant/Medical Superintendent

Northern Territory Fire and Rescue Service

Mr Darryl Leslie PEPPER, Director/Chief Fire Officer

St John Ambulance Australia (Northern Territory) Inc.

Mr Trevor Noel SELLICK, Operations Manager, Northern Region

Northern Territory Police

Superintendent Michael Alfred STEVENS, Counter Terrorism Security Coordination Unit

Mr Bruce WERNHAM, Deputy Commissioner

Australian Red Cross Northern Territory Division

Mr Ian Maxwell WATTS, Executive Director

Friday 15 August 2003 - Melbourne

Office of the Emergency Services Commissioner

Mr Bruce ESPLIN, Emergency Services Commissioner

Department of Human Services

Dr Robert HALL, Director, Public Health and Chief Health Officer

Mr Brian JOYCE, Executive Director, Operations Division

Victoria Police

Mr Bill KELLY, Deputy Commissioner, Operations

Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet

Mr Terry MORAN, Secretary

Friday 7 November 2003 - Brisbane

Queensland Police Service

Commissioner Robert ATKINSON, Commissioner of Police

Queensland Health

Dr Gerard Joseph FITZGERALD, Chief Health Officer

Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Dr Leo KELIHER, Director-General

Ms Louisa PINK, Executive Director, Law and Justice Policy

Ms Catherine Mary TAYLOR, Acting Deputy Director-General, Governance Division

Mr Patrick VIDGEN, Director, Security Planning and Coordination

Department of Emergency Services

Mr Michael John KINNANE, Director-General

Queensland Ambulance Service

Mr Neil KIRBY, Deputy Commissioner

Queensland Fire and Rescue Service

Mr Frank PAGANO, Deputy Commissioner

Queensland Department of Transport

Mr Patrick John QUIRK, Director, Ports Planning

Tuesday 18 November 2003 - Sydney

New South Wales Fire Brigades

Assistant Commissioner John Burton ANDERSON, Director, State Operations

Mr Gary John MEERS, Manager, Counter Terrorism and Aviation

Department of Health

Dr Michael John FLYNN, Medical Director, Ambulance Service of New South Wales and New South Wales State Health Services Functional Area Coordinator

New South Wales State Emergency Management Committee

Major General Brian William HOWARD, Chair

New South Wales Premier's Department and Member, National Counter-Terrorism Committee

Mr Brendan O'REILLY, Deputy Director General

Mr William PARSONS, Director, Counter Terrorism and Disaster Recovery

Ambulance Service of New South Wales

Mr Gregory John ROCHFORD, Chief Executive Officer

New South Wales Cabinet Office

Mr John Lance SCHMIDT, Deputy Director-General

New South Wales Police

Mr Andrew Phillip SCIPIONE, Deputy Commissioner, Support

New South Wales Health

Dr Gregory Joseph STEWART, Chief Health Officer and Deputy Director General, Population Health

Wednesday 19 November 2003 - Hobart

Tasmanian Fire Service

Mr Peter ALEXANDER, Deputy Chief Officer

Department of Health and Human Services

Dr David BOADLE, Chief Health Officer

Dr Roscoe TAYLOR, Director Public Health

Hospital and Ambulance Service

Dr Anne BRAND, Deputy Secretary and Director

Department of Premier and Cabinet

Mr Philip FOULSTON, Director, Executive Division

Tasmanian Police

Mr Jack JOHNSTON, Deputy Commissioner of Police

Department of Police and Public Safety

Mr Richard McCREADIE, Commissioner of Police and Secretary

State Security Unit

Mr Tony MULDER, Director of the State Security Unit

Tasmanian Ambulance Service

Mr Ted PRESHAW, Superintendent

Thursday 20 November 2003 - Adelaide

Department of the Premier and Cabinet

Ms Suzanne Mary CARMAN, Director of Security and Emergency Management

Department of Transport and Urban Planning

Mr Brian Edward HEMMING, Director, Regulatory Services

South Australian Functional Services Emergency Plan

Professor Brendon John KEARNEY, Executive Director Clinical Systems, South Australian Department of Human Services; Health and Medical Controller

South Australian Metropolitan Fire Service

Commander Ray Lawrence SEDUNARY, Commander Metropolitan Operations

South Australia Police

Mr John Ronald WHITE, Deputy Commissioner of Police

Monday 8 March 2004 – Canberra

Australian Federal Police

Mr Graham ASHTON, National Manager, Counter Terrorism

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Ian CARNELL, Deputy Secretary, Criminal Justice and Security

Department of Transport and Regional Services

Ms Vicki Jane DICKMAN, Acting Assistant Secretary, Regional and Freight Security

Mr Andrew Keith TONGUE, First Assistant Secretary, Office of Transport Security

Department of the Prime Minsiter and Cabinet

Mr Andrew Edgar Francis METCALFE, Deputy Secretary

Department of Health and Ageing

Ms Mary MURNANE, Deputy Secretary

Emergency Management Australia

Mr David Charles TEMPLEMAN, Director-General

Protective Security Coordination Centre

Mr Edwin TYRIE, Executive Director