LIST OF WITNESSES APPEARING AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Monday, 24 November 1997 - Canberra

Attorney General's Department

Dr Rosalie Balkin, Assistant Secretary, Public International Law Branch Mr William Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law Ms Joan Sheedy, Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Branch

AusAID

Mr Ernst Huning, Assistant Director General, Indonesia, China and Business Branch

Ms Deborah Stokes, Deputy Director General, Corporate Development and Support Division

Mr Peter Zoller, Assistant Director General, Development Issues and Corporate Policy Branch

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Gillian Bird, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Mr Allaster Cox, Director, Indonesia Section

Mr Peter Hooton, Director, Human Rights and Indigenous Issues Section

Mr Michael Potts, Assistant Secretary, Mainland South East Asia Branch

Ms Jacqueline Rabel, Desk Officer, Indonesia Section

Wednesday, 4 February 1998 - Sydney

Amnesty International Australia

Mr Timothy Goodwin, National Campaigner, Campaign Strategy Team Mr James Isbister, Strategic Alliance Specialist, National Campaigns Team

Diplomacy Training Program

Ms Jane Corpuz-Brock, Director Dr Sarah Pritchard, Director

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Kieren Fitzpatrick, Director, Asia-Pacific Forum of National Human Rights Institutions

Mr Christopher Sidoti, Human Rights Commissioner

Human Rights Council of Australia

Mr Andre Frankovits, Executive Director

Private Citizen

Ms Elizabeth Evatt, New South Wales

Thursday 5 February 1998 - Sydney

Australian Forum of Human Rights Organisations

Mr Michael Curtotti, Secretary Ms Vivian Van Gelder, Member

Australian West Papua Association

Mr Kel Dummett, Member Dr Alison Noonan, Member Miss Michela Noonan, Member Mr John Wing, Member

Private Citizen

Dr Carol O'Donnell, New South Wales

Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture Trauma Survivors

Mr Quentin Dignam, Community Development and Outreach Officer Mr Lachlan Murdoch, Acting Director of Operations

Transparency International Australia

Mr Peter Rooke, Chief Executive

Tuesday 17 February 1998 - Melbourne

Australian Human Rights Foundation

Mr Loga Chandrakumar, Member Mr Murugesu Paramanathan, Member Reverend Richard Wootton, Chief Executive Officer

Australian Tibet Council

Ms Alexandra Butler, President Mr Gabriel Lafitte, Member

Community Aid Abroad

Mr Andrew Hewett, Director, Public Policy and Education Ms Lia Kent, Policy Coordinator

PLAN International Australia

Mr Faruk Avdi, Representative

Private Citizen

Professor Joseph Camilleri, Victoria

Monday 30 March 1998 - Canberra

Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID)

Dr Kieran Donaghue, Acting Director, Governance Group

Dr Robert Glasser, Acting Assistant Director, Mekong Branch

Mr Ernst Huning, Assistant Director General, Indonesia, China and Philippines Branch

Dr Sun-Hee Lee, Director, South Asia Section

Dr Peter McCawley, Deputy Director General, Program Quality Group

Mr Murray Proctor, Assistant Director General, Papua New Guinea Branch

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Ms Gillian Bird, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Mr Allaster Cox, Director, Indonesia Section

Mr John Courtney, Acting Assistant Secretary, East Asia Branch

Ms Susan Dietz, Acting Director, China General/Mongolia Section

Mr Peter Heyward, Director, Refugees, Immigration and Asylum Section

Ms Michelle Marginson, Assistant Secretary, Mainland South East Asia Branch

Mr Ian McConville, Acting Director, South Asia and Regional Issues Section

Mr Greg Moriarty, Assistant Director, Papua New Guinea Section

Mr Jon Philp, Director, ASEAN, Regional Issues and Burma Section

Ms Jacqui Rabel, Desk Officer, Indonesia Section

Ms Nicola Watts, Desk Officer, Thailand/Vietnam/Cambodia/Laos Section

Monday 6 April 1998 - Canberra

Australian Council for Overseas Aid

Ms Janet Hunt, Executive Director Mr Patrick Walsh, Director, Human Rights Office

Thursday 16 April 1998 - Canberra

Department of Defence

Mr Ben Coleman, Director, Papua New Guinea Section, International Policy Division

Mr Robbie Costmeyer, Director, Strategic Trade Policy and Operations, Industry and Procurement Infrastructure Division

Colonel David Hurley, Director of Preparedness and Mobilisation

Lieutenant Colonel Michael Kelly, Directorate of Operations and International Law, Defence Legal Office

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Ms Philippa Godwin, Assistant Secretary, Humanitarian Branch Dr Oleh Lukomskyj, Director, International Section Mr Mark Sullivan, Deputy Secretary

Human Rights International Pty Ltd

Mr Bill Barker, Director

Tibet Information Office

Mr Chhime Chhoekyapa, Member

Ms Dorji Dolma, Member

Professor Samdhong Rinpoche, Chair, Assembly of Tibetan People's Deputies in exile

Mr Choedak Yuthok, Member

Mr Ngawang Zatul, Member