



JOINT COMMITTEE ON THE NATIONAL BROADBAND NETWORK

Issued: 11 April 2012

Chair: Mr Robert Oakeshott MP Deputy Chair: Mr Rob Mitchell MP

Telstra to appear before NBN Committee

At its 16 April hearing, the NBN Committee will hear from Telstra and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) to examine various issues arising from the completion of the Binding Definitive Agreement between Telstra and the NBN Co (the Telstra Agreement).

The Telstra Structural Separation Undertaking and draft Migration Plan under the Telstra Agreement received approval by the ACCC and then came into force on 7 March 2012. The Government has stated that the Telstra Agreement allows for use of existing Telstra telecommunications infrastructure and so will allow for efficient NBN rollout and faster take-up rates.

The committee will also examine the Shareholder Ministers latest report on the NBN rollout, which covers the six month period from 1 July 2011 ended 31 December 2011 and the three year rollout scheduled released by NBN Co on 29 March. The Shareholders Report is available here: www.aph.gov.au/jcnbn

And, the committee will hear about the impact of the NBN rollout on small to medium sized enterprises from the Australian Retailers Association and the Australian Industry Group.

"This is the first time that Telstra will appear before the committee in relation to the NBN rollout and in conjunction with the information provided by the ACCC will provide an opportunity for the committee to finalise its review of the Telstra Agreement, Committee Chair Mr Oakeshott said.

Following this hearing, the committee next meets for a public hearing in Willunga, South Australia on Monday 30 April 2012.

PUBLIC HEARING INFORMATION

Monday, 16 April 2012, 9.00 am to 6.00 pm, Ionic Room, Sydney Masonic Centre, 66 Goulburn Street, Sydney

9.00 am	Australian Communications Consumer Action Network
0.45	

9.45 am Australian Industry Group 10.30 am Vodafone Hutchison Australia

11.00 am Regional Development Australia - Tamworth

11.30 am Berrigan Shire

12.30 pm Australian Retailers Association

1.00 pm Telstra Corporation2.15 pm NBN Co Limited

Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

Department of Finance and Deregulation

5.00 pm Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Audio of the hearing will be available at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

For media comment: please contact the Chair's Office on 0429 787 320.

Further information about the inquiry is available: by contacting the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 2322 via email jcnbn@aph.gov.au or by visiting the committee's webpage at: www.aph.gov.au/jcnbn

Telephone: (02) 6277 2322 Parliament House Facsimile: (02) 6277 8594 PO Box 6021

E-mail: jcnbn@aph.gov.au
Website: www.aph.gov.au/jcnbn

PO Box 6021 CANBERRA ACT 2600