APPENDIX 1: LIST OF SUBMISSIONS

Sub	Name and Organisation	Received
1	Mr Neville Mitchell, Cochlear Limited	02/12/97
2	Professor Ken McKinnon AO, James Cook University of North Queensland	04/12/97
3	Mr Bruce Williams, Park Bench Technology	05/12/97
4	Mr Colin Chipperfield, Australian Maritime Engineering CRC Ltd	08/12/97
5	Professor Tony Adams, National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health	17/12/97
6	Professor Helen Garnett, Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation	23/12/97
7	Ms Linda Botterill, Metal Trades Industry Association of Australia	23/12/97
7.1	Ms Linda Botterill, Metal Trades Industry Association of Australia	11/05/98
8	Mr Hendy Cowan MLA, Deputy Premier, Western Australian Government	24/12/97
9	Professor Brien Holden, Cooperative Research Centre for Eye Research and Technology	24/12/97
10	Sir Gustav Nossal, Australian Academy of Science	12/01/98
10.1	Professor Brian Anderson, Australian Academy of Science	24/06/98
11	Dr Paul Martin, VIRBAC Australia Pty Ltd	12/01/98
12	Mr John Drinan, Committee of Chairs, Rural Research and Development Corporations	12/01/98
12.1	Mr Alan Newton, Rural R & D Chairs Committee	28/05/99
13	Mr L J Prandolini, The Institute of Marine Engineers	12/01/98
13.1	Mr L J Prandolini, The Institute of Marine Engineers	3/05/99
14	Mr Paul Venus	12/01/98
15	Dr Malcolm McIntosh, CSIRO Australia	12/01/98

Sub	Name and Organisation	Received
15.1	Dr Malcolm McIntosh, CSIRO Australia	19/05/99
16	Dr Phillip Reece, Biota Holdings Ltd	13/01/98
17	Mr George Poropat	13/01/98
18	Ms Susan English, Australian Institute of Marine Science	13/01/98
19	Mr Stan Jeffery	13/01/98
20	Mr Angus Robinson, The Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy	13/01/98
21	Mr Richard Davies, Australian Mineral Industries Research Association	15/01/98
22	Professor Deryck Schreuder, University of Western Sydney	15/01/98
23	Dr Paul van Saarloos, The Excimer Laser Company	16/01/98
24	Dr Peter Frost, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology	21/01/98
24.1	Professor David Beanland, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technoloy	6/05/99
25	Dr Robin Batterham, Rio Tinto Research and Technology Development	21/01/98
25.1	Dr Robin Batterham, Rio Tinto Research and Technology Development	3/05/99
26	Mr Toss Gascoigne, Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies (FASTS)	22/01/98
27	The Hon Rob Borbidge, Premier of Queensland	22/01/98
27.1	The Hon Peter Beattie, Premier of Queensland	31/05/99
28	Mr Peter O'Donoghue, Community and Public Sector Union	23/01/98
29	Dr Mark Sceats, Australian Photonics Cooperative Research Centre	27/01/98
29.1	Dr Mark Sceats, Australian Photonics Cooperative Research Centre	26/5/98
29.2	Dr Mark Sceats, Australian Photonics Cooperative Research Centre	13/04/99

Sub	Name and Organisation	Received
30	Mr M Besley AO, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering	30/01/98
31	Ms Lynne Reeder, The Institution of Engineers, Australia	30/01/98
32	Professor Peter Swannell, University of Southern Queensland	04/02/98
33	Professor C Fell, University of New South Wales	04/02/98
34	Professor David Black, The Royal Australian Chemical Institute	11/02/98
35	The Hon Bronwyn Bishop, Minister for Defence Industry, Science and Personnel	11/02/98
35.1	The Hon John Moore, Minister for Defence	23/04/99
35.2	Dr Richard Brabin-Smith, Chief Defence Scientist, Department of Defence	21/06/99
36	Professor Richard Larkins, National Health & Medical Research Council	20/02/98
37	Mr Hugh Bradlow, Telstra Research Laboratories	27/02/98
38	Dr Richard Henley, SRK Consulting	04/03/98
39	Dr Ken Winkel, Australian Venom Research Unit	12/03/98
40	Mr Keith Orchison, Electricity Supply Association of Australia	07/04/98
41	Mr Brian Barker, Optima Energy	17/04/98
42	Professor John Stocker, Australian Science, Technology and Engineering Council	17/04/98
43	Mr Brian Hood, City West Water Limited	21/04/98
44	Mr John Gardner, Power and Water Authority	29/04/98
45	Mr Brian Bayley, Melbourne Water Corporation	01/05/98
46	Mr Ken Matthews, Department of Primary Industries and Energy	11/05/98
47	Dr Jim Gill, Water Corporation	28/05/98

Sub	Name and Organisation	Received
48	Mr Russell Higgins, Department of Industry, Science and Tourism	29/05/98
48.1	Mr Russell Higgins, Department of Industry, Science and Resources	10/03/99
48.2	Mr Keith Besgrove, Department of Industry, Science and Resources	10/05/00
49	Mr T Mullarvey, Australian Vice-Chancellors Committee	18/05/99
50	Mr Michael Rice	5/07/99