



Chair – Ms Maria Vamvakinou MP Deputy – Ms Fran Bailey MP

Research training in Australia Public hearing in Canberra

The House of Representatives Industry, Science and Innovation Committee will conduct its first public hearing for its research training inquiry on Wednesday.

Representatives of the **Australian Academy of Science** and the **Council for Humanities**, **Arts and Social Sciences** will discuss the quality and adequacy of research training in the sciences and humanities. Issues to be discussed will include the value of Australian Postgraduate Awards, preparing graduates for the workforce and opportunities for research career advancement.

The inquiry is examining the contribution that Australian universities make to Australian research training, and the challenges those universities face in recruiting, training and retaining quality research staff.

"Attracting new graduates to research, and keeping hold of our best and brightest researchers here in Australia, has become a challenge for many Australian universities", Committee Chair Maria Vamvakinou said.

"This inquiry focuses the adequacy and effectiveness of current research training schemes, the factors that determine whether new graduates pursue a career in research, and the opportunities for career advancement for research graduates and staff".

PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM Wednesday 18 June 2008 – 10.00am to 11.30pm Committee Room 1R5, Parliament House, Canberra

10.00am Australian Academy of Science (submission 45)

Professor Kurt Lambeck, President Professor Philip Kuchel, Secretary Science Policy Dr Sue Meek, Chief Executive

10.45am Council for Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (submission 47)

Toss Gascoigne, Executive Director Professor Sharon Bell, University of Canberra Professor Graeme Hugo, University of Adelaide

The public hearing will be webcast (<u>webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/</u>), and broadcast internally (audio only) on HMS frequency 97.5. Further details, including the terms of reference, membership of the Committee and advice on making submissions can be obtained on the Committee's website at: <u>www.aph.gov.au/isi</u>

For media comment: contact the Committee Chair Ms Maria Vamvakinou on 0417 541 465.

For further information: contact the Committee Secretary on (02) 6277 4594, or isi.reps@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 4594
Facsimile: 02 6277 4516
E-mail: isi.reps@aph.gov.au/isi
Website: www.aph.gov.au/isi

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600