

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON INFRASTRUCTURE AND COMMUNICATIONS

Inquiry into the Road Safety Remuneration Bill 2011 and Road Safety Remuneration (Consequential Amendments and Related Provisions) Bill 2011

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 15 December 2011

Chair: Sharon Bird MP Deputy Chair: Paul Neville MP

Telephone: 02 6277 2352

Email: ic.reps@aph.gov.au

Website: www.aph.gov.au/ic

House Committee to inquire into Road Safety Remuneration Bills

The House of Representatives Infrastructure and Communications Committee is conducting a new inquiry into the **Road Safety Remuneration Bill 2011** and **Road Safety Remuneration** (Consequential Amendments and Related Provisions) Bill 2011. These Bills were introduced to the House on 23 November 2011 and referred by the Selection Committee on 24 November. The Bills propose to establish a new Road Safety Remuneration Tribunal with the power to determine mandatory minimum rates of pay for employed and self-employed commercial drivers.

The Committee is now inviting submissions from interested parties on the details of these bills.

The Committee will accept submissions until **Monday, 30 January 2012**. The terms of reference are the text of the bills, which can be accessed, together with explanatory memoranda, on the Committee's website: (http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/ic/24Nov/index.htm).

For further details about the inquiry: contact the secretariat by phone (02) 6277 2352; email ic.reps@aph.gov.au; or website http://www.aph.gov.au/ic

For media comment only: please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Sharon Bird, on (02) 6277 4717 (Parliament House) or (02) 4228 5899 (electorate office)