

Issued: 28 January 2011

Chair: Steve Georganas MP Deputy Chair: Steve Irons MP

Roundtable forum on youth suicide prevention programs to be held in Perth

The House of Representatives Health Committee will convene a public roundtable forum in Perth on *Monday, 31 January 2011* at the *Kaditj Cafe, 201 Beaufort Street, Northbridge* to discuss the prevention of youth suicide through education and community programs.

The morning program, starting at 10am, will focus on early intervention initiatives in the education sector. The afternoon session, starting at 1pm, will feature experts from youth suicide prevention and mental health programs, including indigenous services, as well as representatives from youth, sporting and community associations.

Committee Chair and Member for Hindmarsh, Steve Georganas, said, "This roundtable will build on evidence the committee gathered at roundtables in Sydney and Melbourne in 2010. The aim of the forum is to pinpoint which strategies currently used in the education and community sectors are effective in identifying youth at risk of self harm or suicide. This will help the committee to develop recommendations for effective early intervention programs."

The committee will hear from representatives of the following organisations:

Western Australian Department of Education	Principals Australia
WA Secondary Schools Executive Association	KidsMatter
Western Australian General Practice Network	ReachOut.com
Centrecare Incorporated	Inspire Foundation, WA
Statewide Indigenous Mental Health Service	Youth Focus
WA Football Commission	WA Country Football League
Youth Affairs Council of Western Australia	Mentally Healthy WA, Act-Belong-Commi
	Campaign

The roundtable forum will commence at **10:00 am**, and discussion will concentrate on the policy framework and changes that can be made to prevent youth suicide.

All are welcome to attend.

For media comment, please contact Hannah Frank on 0419 849 048.

For all other information: please contact the Inquiry Secretary on (02) 6277 4145 or visit the Committee's inquiry website: **www.aph.gov.au/haa**