

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES ECONOMICS,
FINANCE AND PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE
HOME LOAN LENDING INQUIRY

MEDIA ALERT

Issued: 7 AUGUST 2007

Chair: Hon Bruce Baird MP Deputy Chair: Ms Sharon Bird MP

House Economics Committee's Home Loan Lending Roundtable This Friday

The House of Representatives Economics Committee will host a roundtable public hearing for its inquiry into housing lending practices and the processes used to deal with people in financial difficulty. The roundtable will include a range of government and industry stakeholders.

The details of the roundtable are as follows:

Venue Committee Room 1R1, Parliament House, Canberra

Date 10 August 2007 **Time** 9.15am to 3.00pm

Webcast The hearing will be webcast (audio) live at http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting/

Among the issues to be discussed at the roundtable are:

- Housing lending standards in Australia;
- Mortgage defaults and foreclosures;
- Treatment of borrowers in mortgage default; and
- Housing lending standards, the financial system and the economy.

The groups participating in the roundtable include:

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

Reserve Bank of Australia

Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Australian Secunites and investments Commissio

Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia
Banking and Financial Services Ombudsman

Code Compliance Monitoring Committee

Credit Ombudsman Service Australian Bankers' Association Abacus Australian Mutuals

Mortgage and Finance Association of Australia

Australian Finance Conference

Choice (Australian Consumers' Association)

Consumer Credit Legal Centre Legal Aid New South Wales Consumer Action Law Centre

Finance Brokers Association of Australia

Citibank
Commonwealth Bank of Australia

HBOS Australia

Bendigo Bank

ANZ Bank

National Australia Bank

Westpac

Virgin Money

Prushka Debt Collection Genworth Financial PMI Mortgage Insurance

Australasian Compliance Institute

Australian Property Institute Finance Sector Union

Finance Sector Union

Associate Professor Steve Keen

Wesley Mission

For media comment: Please contact the committee Chair, The Hon Bruce Baird MP:

Electorate: (02) 9525 8200 Parliament: (02) 6277 4814

For background information: Please contact the committee secretariat:

Phone: (02) 6277 4587

Email: efpa.reps@aph.gov.au

02 6277 4587

Website: http://www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/efpa/index.htm

Facsimile: 02 6277 4774 E-mail: efpa.Reps@aph.gov.au

Telephone:

Website: www.aph.gov.au/house/committee/efpa/

PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600