

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON CLIMATE CHANGE, WATER, ENVIRONMENT AND THE ARTS

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 4 December 2008

Chair—Jennie George MP Deputy Chair—Mal Washer MP

Inquiry into the Resale Royalty Right for Visual Artists Bill 2008

Resale Royalty Right for Visual Artists Bill 2008

On 27 November 2008, following the Minister's second reading speech, the House of Representatives resolved to refer the above Bill to the House of Representatives Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts Committee for consideration and an advisory report by 20 February 2009.

In his second reading speech, Minister Garrett stated that, "The introduction of this Bill marks a landmark day for Australia's visual artists, whose right to an ongoing economic interest in the value of their artistic works will be appropriately recognised in Australia for the first time".

Committee Chair Jennie George said that "The Committee's task will be to encourage the public scrutiny of the Bill prior to the resumption of the Second Reading Debate in the House". The Committee expects to receive submissions relating to the Bill before calling key witnesses to appear before the Committee on Friday, 6 February 2009.

Ms George noted that there has been a number of inquiries in recent years that have dealt with the desirability or otherwise of introducing a royalty scheme for visual artists. Our inquiry, she said, "will concentrate on the content and structure of the Bill with the view to ensuring that the proposed legislation will achieve the objectives as outlined in the Bill and the Minister's Second reading speech".

The committee will accept submissions until **Friday, 23 January 2009**. Further details about the inquiry, including how to make a submission, can be obtained from the committee's website at http://www.aph.gov.au/ccwea.

For **media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Jennie George MP, on 02 6277 4260 (Canberra) or 02 4262 6122 (electorate office)

For **background information**, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4580 or by email at ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 4580 Facsimile: 02 6277 4424

E-mail: ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/ccwea PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600