

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON CLIMATE CHANGE, WATER, ENVIRONMENT AND THE ARTS

Inquiry into the Australian coastal zone

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 15 October 2008

Chair—Jennie George MP Deputy Chair—Mal Washer MP

Peak local government body to discuss coastal zone management

The House of Representatives Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts Committee will hear from the Australian Local Government Association at a public hearing in Canberra on 16 October 2008 as part of its inquiry into climate change and environmental impacts on Australia's coastal zone.

"The Australian Local Government Association is the national voice of local government, and represents over 600 councils across Australia," Committee Chair Ms George said.

"Local government is responsible for land use planning throughout much of the coastal zone. That much of Australia's population and infrastructure is in the coastal zone, increasing our vulnerability to climate change impacts, is clearly of concern to councils across Australia."

"The Committee looks forward to hearing ALGA's views on this matter," Ms George said.

The inquiry will examine existing policies and programs related to coastal zone management, ways to promote sustainable use of coastal resources, and strategies to deal with climate change adaptation. The Committee is also looking at ways to promote sustainable coastal communities, as well as governance and institutional arrangements for Australia's coastal zone.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the hearing, which will also be webcast (audio only) on: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting.

Public hearing schedule on 16 October 2008 Venue: Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra

10.45am Australian Local Government Association

Further details on the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website at http://www.aph.gov.au/ccwea.

For **media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Jennie George MP, on 02 6277 4260 (Canberra) or 02 4262 6122 (electorate office).

For **background information**, please contact the Committee Secretariat on 02 6277 4580 or by email at ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 4580 Facsimile: 02 6277 4424

E-mail: ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/ccwea PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600