

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON CLIMATE CHANGE, WATER, ENVIRONMENT AND THE ARTS

Inquiry into the Australian coastal zone

MEDIA RELEASE

Issued: 26 November 2008

Chair—Jennie George MP Deputy Chair—Mal Washer MP

Protecting the coastal environment

Federal parliamentary committee hears from the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

The House of Representatives Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts Committee will hear from the Department of the Environment at a public hearing in Canberra on 27 November 2008 as part of its inquiry into climate change and environmental impacts on Australia's coastal zone.

"The Department of the Environment plays a key role in the implementation of initiatives to protect Australia's coasts and oceans, and ensure that their management is ecologically sustainable," Committee Chair Ms George said.

"According to the 2006 State of the Environment Report and based on current population trends, '42.3 per cent of the Nowra to Noosa coastline will be urbanised by the year 2050, with the resulting loss of much of Australia's temperate and tropical coastal systems'. The department's submission highlights that 'the rate and scale of this change will bring irreversible impacts to coastal zone environments and, ironically, threaten many of the natural values which draw people to live on the coast."

"The Committee is keen to explore these and other matters with the department," Ms George said.

The inquiry will examine existing policies and programs related to coastal zone management, ways to promote sustainable use of coastal resources, and strategies to deal with climate change adaptation. The Committee is also looking at ways to promote sustainable coastal communities, as well as governance and institutional arrangements for Australia's coastal zone.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the hearing, which will also be webcast (audio only) on: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting.

Public hearing schedule on 27 November 2008 Venue: Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra

10.45am Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Further details on the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website at http://www.aph.gov.au/ccwea.

For **media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Jennie George MP, on 02 6277 4260 (Canberra) or 02 4262 6122 (electorate office)

For **background information**, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4580 or by email at ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au.

Telephone: 02 6277 4580 Facsimile: 02 6277 4424

E-mail: ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au Website: www.aph.gov.au/ccwea PARLIAMENT HOUSE CANBERRA ACT 2600