

PARLIAMENT of AUSTRALIA HOUSE of REPRESENTATIVES

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ABORIGINAL AND TORRES STRAIT ISLANDER AFFAIRS

PO Box 6021, Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600 | Phone: (02) 6277 4559 | Fax: (02) 6277 4427 | Email: atsia.reps@aph.gov.au

DARWIN PROGRAM

Inquiry into language learning in Indigenous communities

Public Hearing Wednesday, 2 May 2012 9:00am – 5:15pm Litchfield Room, Parliament House Darwin

9.00am	Northern Territory Government (NT Aboriginal Interpreter Services,
	Department of Education and Training and Northern Territory Library)

• Minister Malarnderri McCarthy

9.45am Yirrkala School (via teleconference, Yirrkala)

• Dhalulu Ganambarr-Stubbs

• Rarriwuy Marika

• Banbapuy Whitehead

10.15am Maratja Dhamarrandji and Gapany Gaykamangu

Kendall Trudgen (via teleconference, Nhulunbuy)

10.45am *Morning tea break*

11.00am Richard Trudgen (via teleconference, Nhulunbuy)

11.30am Australian Society for Indigenous languages

• Margaret Mickan, Chair of Board

• Mary Skidmore, Literacy and training consultant

12.00noon Aboriginal Resource and Development Services

• Marilyn Mclellan, Linguist

• Paul Bubb, Executive Officer, TBC

12.30pm *Lunch break*

1.30pm North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency

• Dorothy Fox, Chair of Board

• Priscilla Collins, CEO

• Jonathon Hunyor, Principal Legal Officer

• Steve Barlow, Advocacy Manager

2.00pm Trevor Stockley (via teleconference, Innisfail, QLD)

2.30pm Mary Laughren, linguist

3.00pm	The Indigenous Teachers of Shepherdson College (via teleconference, Galiwinku)
3.30pm	Afternoon tea break
3.45pm	Dr Brian Devlin, Professor Michael Christie and Dr John Greatorex, Charles Darwin University
4.15pm	Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education
	 Dr Sue Stanton Claire Kilgariff, Head of Faculty Education, Arts and Social Science
4.45pm	John Bradbury, teacher
5.00pm	Dr Jane Thorn, Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Darwin Hospital
5.15pm	Close