

Louise Cox AM President

29th July 2011

Senator Helen Polley Chair Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee PO Box 6100 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Attention: fpa.sen@aph.gov.au

SENATE ENQUIRY INTO THE PERFORMANCE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PARLIAMENTARY SERVICES

with particular reference to
(b) policies and practices followed by DPS for the management of the heritage values of Parliament
House and its contents;

Dear Senator Polley

The design of Australia's Parliament House was the result of an international competition. Over the years these competitions have produced a number of great buildings globally.

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has listed Australia's Parliament House on its International Register of Significant World Architecture. The UIA together with other international organisations interested in conserving world architecture such as UNESCO, ICOMOS and DOCOMOMO International require that the highest standards be used to conserve and manage the World's monuments. We are concerned that this has not been the case with Australia's Parliament House.

It is imperative that.

- A Conservation and Management Plan be prepared for all aspects of the building, its contents and its setting. Such a CMP should be to UNESCO, ICOMOS and DOCOMOMO standards.
- Parliament House is recognised for its outstanding heritage values, not only for the building itself, also for the wonderful, specially commissioned artworks and its spectacular setting. The Department of Parliamentary Services should promote this complex in its entirety as strongly as possible so that it is entered onto Australia's National Heritage List.

The UIA is very interested in the future of this outstanding example of architecture in its entirety and would appreciate that it is informed of the outcome of the enquiry.

Yours sincerely

Louise Cox AM UIA President

General Secretariat

Tour Maine-Montparnasse 33, avenue du Maine-BP 158 75755 Paris cedex 15. France Tel.: +33 1 45 24 36 88 Fax: +33 1 45 24 02 78 uia@uia-architectes.org

The UIA is an international, non-governmental organisation representing architects of the following countries: Afghanistan, Andorra, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Australia, Australia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Baltic Countries: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo (Republic of the), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic republic of), Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrghyzstan, Lebanon, Luxemburg, Macao, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Maurittus, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Nigeria, Nordic Countries: Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, Poland, Porto Rico, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, United States of America, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Zambia.

Temporary Members: Bahamas, Belize, Brunei Darussalam, Central African Republic, Chad, Fiji, Malawi, Mauritania, Niger, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome and Principe, Suriname.

UIA Bureau Members: President: Ms. Louise Cox, Immediate Past President: Gaëtan Siew, Secretary General: Jordi Farrando, Treasurer: Goh Chong Chia, 1st Vice-President: Ms. Elisabeth Siola, Kazuo Iwamura. Administrative and Financial Director: Nicolas Jelansky